OriginStory 035: Stuck with Naru

<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>

Chapter 35: Stuck with Naru

“Heh… so these are all German beers? They’re not cold, though.”

“Ah, un. They don’t drink beer cold in Europe! … (I think.)”

“Wow! I’m not into beer, but this one’s okay?”

“Ah, that’s a stout.”

“Really? You’re not into beer, but stout’s okay?”

I wanted a beer after all, but since I didn’t know any of the beers on the list, Glasses-kun and Blondie ordered a few samplers of beer.

It seems to have been the correct idea, because the other girls and guys started crowding around the glasses to try them all.

Un. The conversations are going pretty well without resorting to VR for topics.

I was a little worried that we’d continue talking about VR games, and then Chie would find out somehow and kill me.

Going to a drinking party on someone else’s behalf is tiring…

Of course I asked the waitress for shot glasses so everyone could try a little without swigging from the glasses themselves.

None of us are close enough to share glasses in mixed company, after all.

And it’s not THAT kind of goukon, where everyone is clearly trying to hook up.

If it’s like that, should we have just ordered pitchers of beer instead?

Although I had that kind of idea, I doubt this kind of fancy-pants place sells beer by the pitcher.

Also, I’m going to be taking my Kawasaki back and then go on to participate in a massive, end-game-like raid, so getting smashed isn’t the best idea.

Actually, because I AM taking my bike back, I should probably stop.

I could always leave it and take the train back, but leaving my bike overnight in Shibuya is …

The topic moves from beers to cocktails, and now they’re beginning to tell stories about other drinking parties they’ve been to.

I’m pretty sure my experiences of ex-delinquents getting drunk and rowdy should NOT make it into the conversation, so I start saying things like, “Heeh? Really. So what happened?” just to keep the conversations flowing.

Since the girls and guys interested in getting to know each other are starting to hit it off, this elder is going to relegate herself to support.

Although they’re all around my age, lol.

And so I’m going to spend the next half hour getting sober, watching the young people enjoy their youth, and popping Chie’s ex’s ego every time it starts to swell up.

And messing with Fe – I mean, Ran, of course.

He’s not getting into the spirit of things.

I wonder why~.

Could it be because he didn’t want to come~ or because his roommate was picking on him~ or because he doesn’t like drinking~?

Right, all of the above, it looks like.

He’s pulled back from the conversations like me, but rather than being support, it’s more like he’s trying to fade into the air, lol.

Since Haruki-senpai seems like he can’t fully focus on having a good time because he’s troubled over Ran’s circumstances, should I be a good person and step in~?

By no means is it because I want to mess with him anyway-!

“Not going to join?”

I gesture towards the girls and guys enjoying themselves.

Ah, now they’re ordering different alcohols other than just beer.

Well, since they’re sharing it between themselves, they’ll probably be alright and not get too drunk?

Ran glances at me before returning with,

“I’m fine.”

“Since you came all this way, you might as well enjoy yourself and have a drink, right?”

“I’m fine.”

“Heeh…”

“Conversely, I should be asking you whether or not it’s alright to be drinking so much before the raid.”

“… Ah, I’ve been found out.”

“Did you think you were hiding it – , no, you weren’t even trying, were you?”

“It’s less fun if you don’t find out, right~? Anyway, I only had an oolong-hi and three shots of beer. There’s still an hour before the raid, so it should be fine?”

“…”

Ran sighs heavily and closes his eyes, like he’s totally hoping the time will go faster.

Is my presence really that annoying?

Well, whether he likes it or not, too bad!

“Maa, well, both of us had the misfortune to be substitutes, so let’s get along~.”

“Haa…”

Ran glanced at me again.

“… I have to say, you’re different than I expected.”

Hooh?

“I’m kind of surprised you were thinking of what I’d be like in rl.”

I said with a smirk, but Ran just stared dully at me and said,

“I wasn’t. But this look just feels wrong.”

“Hm. Well, it feels wrong to me too. Be happy you’re not being a substitute for a woman in a group date.”

I sigh.

I had completely forgotten about Chie’s enthusiastic efforts on my appearance.

“… I’m not really sure how that could ever happen,”

Ran muttered.

“I thought the same thing, and look at me.”

“… I don’t even know what to say to that.”

The creases between Ran’s brows lessened a tad as he said so.

I change the subject and say,

“So you do computer stuff. Figures as much.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

Ooh, he shot me a glare.

“Iyaaaaa, nothing? Just sayin’~.”

I mean, he totally has that kind of a feel.

“Are you into making VR games?”

I asked.

Ran gives me a scornful look.

Hey, I was being serious. This time.

VR is a huge, growing market right now, y’know?

Although it’s hard to break into, from what I hear.

“Just because you play games doesn’t mean you can make them. I do hardware.”

“Heeh~.”

Yeah, I don’t know enough about that stuff, so …

Ran sighs again.

Is his oxygen intake okay?

“Seriously. Meeting such a troublesome person in rl…”

“Ahaha, troublesome? Just who is?”

“Put a hand over your heart and think about it yourself.”

Ehh…

For some reason, images of throwing Fen over a cliff and almost drowning him pop into my head.

“Those were all circumstances outside of my control.”

Why did you roll your eyes? I was being completely serious.

Mostly.

Ignoring Ran’s attitude, I wave the waitress over.

“’Scuse me, could I have another water? Ah, and is there coffee?”

“Of course. Alcoholic or non?”

Ran perked up when she responded with a positive answer.

To be honest, I’m also surprised there’s coffee, but if they have alcoholic coffee cocktails, it’s not weird that they’d have coffee.

Although I totally thought their coffee cocktails were just made with kahlua milk and not coffee.

“Then two coffees, no alcohol please, pretty Nee-san.”

I flash her a smile and she laughs pleasantly.

“Of course. Right away.”

She hurries off, still smiling broadly.

I turn back to Ran.

“You wanted coffee, right? Well, I can drink both if you didn’t.”

“You are…”

Hm… wonder why he’s staring at me with an exhausted expression.

Because of my interactions with the waitress, or because I just ordered him a coffee without asking?

Both are equally likely, after all.

“… No, well, thanks.”

That reluctant honesty.

Lol, Ran’s very much the same in game and out.

After that, our conversation got derailed as Chie’s ex nearly started a quarrel with Glasses-kun.

Hai hai, I’ll come over and sort him out.

Fe – Ran went back to pretending to be air and sipping his coffee while I sorted his roommate out.

Ass.

You could give me a hand, right?

Although I agree that I would rather not do it if I didn’t have a grudge against Chie’s ex have to.

Not even 20 minutes later, everyone started winding down the party.

“Hehe, that was fun!”

“Un, the food was good. As expected. Nice find, Haruki-senpai!”

“Ahaha, thank Kasai-san. She was the one who suggested it.”

“Airi-senpai, thank you!”

“Where should we go next?”

“Karaoke? Bar? Dancing?”

As expected, they’re still raring to go.

“Haha, you guys are energetic. I’ll have to go, but I wish the ladies and gentlemen the best.”

I waved as I said that, hoping that the ‘everyone, let’s go’ people would take a hint and not try to push for me to stay.

“Ah… that’s right. Narumi-san has something else. Thank you very much for coming.”

Kasai-senpai, nice follow up!

“Not at all. It was a pleasure to meet some lovely ladies and cool guys.”

When I flash a smile, some of the girls, who were a little drunk, said,

“Kyaa! Narumi-san, so handsome!”

Before giggling and having the some of the guys help them up out of their seats.

“… I as well…”

Ran took advantage of the situation to hop onto the bandwagon and take his leave.

“Okay. Here’s the key. I think Riku’s working part time, so he’s not home.”

Haruki-senpai tossed their house-key over to Ran as I left first.

I’m DYING for a smoke.

I’ve got a few more minutes before I have to leave to get home in time for the raid, so… I’m going to smoke, dammit!

While leaning against my bike and lighting up, I wave to the boys and girls as they trickle out of the bar, waving back and laughing loudly as they disappear down the street to the next place.

Man, I don’t mind hanging out with people like this, but it really feels like a way different crowd than I’m used to.

Well, a change of drinking buddies isn’t bad once in a while.

Btw, I did notice Chie’s ex freeze for a second as his tipsy gaze saw me next to my bike.

… It seriously took you that long to figure it out?

Geez.

I wasn’t even trying to hide it, halfway through.

I considered rubbing it in by giving him a big, shit-eating grin, but … it’s not like it’s fun messing with HIM, so let’s just ignore him.

After they disappeared, Ran came out.

Toilet?

Well, I’m about done with my cig, so I’ll just give him a nod and go… is what I thought, but he suddenly has a weird look on his face.

Patting his pockets with a slightly panicked look…

“… You already lost the key?”

“… No.”

As if giving up, Ran sighed again, but he seemed SUPER annoyed, because he continued on to explain,

“They dragged me out without any warning, so I don’t have my wallet.”

“Ah… so…”

“I don’t have my Suica.”

“You still use a railcard? You can get the app on your phon –“

“I don’t have my phone either. It’s still plugged into my computer.”

Lol. That sucks.

Good thing Haruki-senpai gave him the key.

I finish smoking and crush the cigarette butt and drop it into my pocket ashtray.

“C’mon, I’ll give you a lift. You’ll have to wear this as a backpack, though.”

I put my pocket ashtray away and undid the pack wrapped around the rear seat.

Good thing I happened to not remove it, last time I gave the Chibi a ride to school.

Even have the spare helmet.

“Huh-?”

“Hm? I’ll give you a ride. Where’s your place?”

“Ah… … … thanks.”

Although he seemed resistant to the idea, Ran reluctantly agreed to it, told me the address, and got onto the bike behind me.

After looking it up on my phone, off we went into the night.

As soon as I got back home, I rushed upstairs and logged into OriginStory.

Immediately,

[Nee-chan, you’re late!]

Whaaat. I’m totally on time.

Barely.

Pretty soon, the Chibi comes storming over with a semi-upset look.

“Geez, Nee-chan! We still need to organize the parties-!”

“Yeah, my bad. I had to give someone else in the raid a ride home, ‘kay? Don’t hold it too much against me.”

In response to my statement, the Chibi had a “?” kind of look.

“You went out with some of Chie’s friends, right?”

“Chibi, don’t believe everything Chie tells you about normies. Some of them play games. Well, you probably can’t consider him a normie, though.”

“Hm… okay, well, you’re going to be one of two vanguards with a cc party. Is that okay?”

Whether it’s okay or not…

“You’ve already decided, right?”

“Un, well, I thought I’d ask just so I could say I asked. Anyway, if we put you with a vanguard party… you don’t even try to control aggro.”

So he put me on a team where it wouldn’t matter and I could take as much aggro as I want, huh?

“Right on. Who’s the party leader?”

Right when I asked,

Ping!

Player Ahava has invited you to a party. Will you accept?

Y/N?

“Ahava?”

“En. I’m the party leader.”

A cool-looking woman in black armor with silver hair and dark skin spoke up.

I accept the party invitation.

I’m the last member of the party, it seems.

Well yeah, I barely made it in the door~.

Let’s see, let’s see.

Are~?

[Party]: Naru: [Yo, Fen-chan~, feels like we JUST saw each other!]

[Party]: Fenrys: […]

Lol.

“Hey Chibi, not that I’m complaining, but you stuck Fen in my party?”

“Fen? Oh, that guy you told us to stick in the raid. Yeah. I mean, look, his two highest leveled Talents are [Enhanced Movement] and [Stealth]. Just what am I supposed to do with that?”

Nn… that’s true.

Unless you’re willing to share, only your top two highest leveled Talents can be seen even when you’re grouped into a party, after all.

And Fen… un.

Not willing to share.

“So you stuck him with me since I’ve partied with him before. Got it.”

Fumu fumu.

Casting my eyes down the party list:

Ahava: [Stealth] [Light Magic]: Avg Lv27
Purin-Luv: [Heal Magic] [Stealth]: Avg Lv26
Jin-Bou:
[Provoke] [Quarterstaff]: Avg Lv24
Megu: [Stealth] [Brawler]: Avg Lv28
Fenrys: [Enhanced Movement] [Stealth]:Avg Lv22

Maan… Avg Lv doesn’t seem to help at all, na.

There’s no way that anyone participating in this raid would have their main combat Talents too far from Lv30, so … I guess all I can tell is that everyone’s about the same, give or take a few ExP.

Looks like Fen’s taken some new Talents, since his has gone down from before.

Oh, it’s kind of helpful if you think of it like that.

Rather, levels are meaningless if you can’t play well, is that the kind of thing the devs are pushing?

… Wait. Not that!

“Oi, Chibi. What’s with this unbalanced party?”

“E-eh…? You have a mage, CC, heals, dps, and 2 tanks…?”

“Nonono. These are all sub-assassins!”

Well, except for the quarterstaff user, unless…

Ahava and Chibi don’t even try to correct me.

So he has [Stealth] too-!

The Chibi coughs and says,

“U-uun, maa… So feel free to go wild and take as much aggro as possible?”

“Your confidence in my ability to keep aggro is amazing.”

“It’s based on all my past experiences of partying with you? Maa, good luck!”

With a smirk, the Chibi dodges my hand and heads off to chat with the other ‘leaders’ in this raid.

“Fufufu.”

Ahava laughed, but her expression didn’t change at all.

Oh, I see. A construct player.

Although I had thought most construct players would prefer to be more obviously mecha-like, it seems that the doll-type constructs are pretty popular.

Iyaa… I might be more like an adolescent boy when it comes to this preference.

“Otouto-kun said you’d be able to keep aggro, even with our [Stealth] crew, but, well, we’re not going to be the main DPS, anyway.”

“Haa… ”

So I’m stealing aggro from the assassins when I don’t have tank skills.

Thinking about it another way, this could be fun~!

—-

—-

TALENTS

[Axe]Lv30       
[Bolstered Endurance]
Lv36
[Sharp Senses]
Lv27
[Scavenge+]
Lv1
[Spirit of the Wild Hunt]
Lv26
[Inheritance of the Forest Guardian]
Lv30
[Discovery]Lv22
[Bolstered Dexterity]Lv28
[Counter]Lv20
[Mine]Lv17
[Scribe]Lv16

Avg Lv: 23
TP: 25

 

Extra

Boys’ side:

“Dammit, I thought she was kind of familiar.”

Haruki Minamoto could only smile stiffly as one of his housemates, Kenta Toyoda, muttered darkly into a beer.

After a rough breakup, Kenta had been dark and moody.

“If she won’t do it with me, is it something wrong with me? Is she just not into the relationship? Is she just using me? Is she cheating on me?”

He was continuously muttering that kind of thing until about a month or so ago, when he came out of his room and announced he’d broken up with his girlfriend.

Right before their anniversary.

Over text.

Well, it’s one of those things where there’s never a really good time to break up, nor is there a really good way to do it.

Do you stay together through the anniversary and then break up, or just get it over with?

Haruki kind of understood, but at the same time, he didn’t know if he’d do the same thing.

At least not the break up over text.

Anyway, for about a month, Kenta had been a dismal mess in their homeshare house.

Their fourth housemate had finally had enough of him skipping his turn doing chores and barged into Kenta’s room, evicting him out into the living/dining room until he ‘stopped being useless to society’.

Anyway, a long story short, Kenta had at least recovered to the point where he was now rebounding and wanting a girlfriend.

Although Haruki was unwilling at first, eventually he gave in and let Kenta join the group date he’d been planning with Y Uni’s Business Association Club.

Mostly because their fourth housemate got so exasperated at Kenta’s begging that he blew up at both of them.

Rebounding is really not a good place to be when going on a group date… no, maybe it’s okay.

Still, if he causes problems…

If Kenta was in a normal frame of mind Haruki wouldn’t have been worried at all, though.

For some reason, after he dumped his girlfriend, Kenta had been acting with a lot more aggression lately, and on a group date, that was something Haruki could see becoming a bit of a problem.

Haruki decided that if anything happens, he’ll have him pay for it with extra interest – both Kenta AND their fourth housemate!

Although the girl from C Uni seemed to not like Kenta, and Kenta was using their third housemate, who didn’t even want to come in the first place, as a scapegoat in the small talk, somehow or other the group date ended in a success.

They had gone for karaoke in the after party, and a few hours later, half their numbers went off to a bar and the rest went home to catch the last train.

Except for Kenta and Haruki, who were drinking in a cheaper bar.

Although he probably didn’t have to care, Haruki felt that Kenta’s color hadn’t been that good after they saw Ran-kun off.

There was a reason that Haruki often won the ‘good guy’ title in all of his social groups.

“Who, the girl from C Uni?”

He asked.

In his head, though, Haruki was keeping a mental tally of how many drinks Kenta was having.

“Fuck. She’s Chie’s childhood friend.”

Chie is… oh. Kenta’s ex.

“’Cause… the motorcycle… I figured it out… dammit, she’s why we broke up in the first place!”

“Ah… is that so?”

Haruki didn’t really know what to say.

Although he and Kenta were housemates, to begin with, all four of them just found each other through the university and rented a house together to cut down on costs, so it’s not like they were all particularly close or anything…

“’Cause… she’s always showin’ me up… and talkin’ bad about me… an’ makin’ Chie hang out with her more’n me… then Chie started gettin’ mad at me all the time… in the first place, why’s a girl like her tryin’ ta be all cool and shit?”

“Hahaha…”

Certainly, Narumi-san makes quite the impression.

She’s attractive, in a cool kind of way, and was the type who’d get along with most people easily. You could say it was charisma, or something like that.

Not Haruki’s type for dating, but someone he thought would be fun to hang out with.

Although she was also a little bit on the scary- er, intimidating side, too.

Well, Haruki could understand the competitive Kenta feeling a little threatened by someone like her.

In his head, Haruki had already assembled the full simulation. Kenta’s the type to do stupid things when he tries to outdo someone, after all.

Wait.

Don’t tell me that you broke up with your girlfriend because you were jealous of her childhood friend.

Haruki totally understood that feeling of jealousy if it was a male childhood friend, but even if it was a male friend … did you properly talk it over with her?

Haruki had a feeling that, if it were Kenta, he’d try to pretend he didn’t care so as not to upset his girlfriend too much, but start demanding to know who his girlfriend was hanging out with or texting or whatever.

Basically by trying not to be controlling, he’d end up being controlling.

Of course a girl like that Narumi-san wasn’t going to be happy about that kind of behavior from her friend’s boyfriend, and so…

Haruki’s head was beginning to hurt, and not from the alcohol.

No, well, he got where Kenta was coming from, when there’s someone your girlfriend seems to trust more than you it hurts after all, but … seriously?

Oh, wait.

Haruki vaguely remembered, from other drunken complaint sessions Kenta had made, that there were definitely more reasons he had broken up with his ex other than just Narumi-san.

Sigh.

Right, I’ll just keep you company for this round of complaints.

Haruki gave up trying to make sense of Kenta’s dating history.

Because all he was getting was that the relationship had become one big, tangled, pain in the ass for everyone involved.

“Bet she’s… jus’ tryin’ to get Chie to date her…”

Just when Haruki had decided to nod along without listening, Kenta made that kind of statement.

“…Wait, what?”

Haruki couldn’t help himself from saying.

“That… she… isn’t she totally a lesbian?”

Kenta slurred.

“Wait, she is?”

“Toootally has to be. She was flirtin’ with all the girls all night tonight too, right?”

“Ah, no, well…”

Flirting… if we’re talking about flirting, wasn’t it Ran-kun she was flirting with all night?

Haruki decided not to say anything, with the mood Kenta was in.


<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>


<A/n:

Whoo, second patron-created character showed up. Ahava

Still working on Zeke’s design, since he’s probably the kind of guy who’s still switching between dropped equipment.

Betcha thought I was going to leave Chie’s ex as a jerkface, huh?
He’s still not the kind of guy I’D get along with, but some things are better said than unsaid.
It’s extremely doubtful that Kenta will be any sort of (important) reoccurring character, but the opposite side of things is sometimes better said than left unsaid.

I went with the Kawasaki Eliminator purely because wiki called it a “power cruiser”, complete with quotes.
Although the others were great suggestions, because they were all cruisers and apparently I was looking for cruiser bikes even though I didn’t know it, this one had the “heft” (figuratively) that I was looking for. Thanks guys!

Btw, this chapter is the scene that gave me the inspiration for OriginStory: a guy riding behind a woman on a motorcycle at night, and all he can smell is coffee, cigarettes, and gasoline.

Fluvia 12 is up>

23 comments

  1. That party is going to be entertaining to watch, might not be fun to be in though. Well Naru will probably have a blast, might even have to bear out. Anyways I still kinda dislike Chie’s ex.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. He’s not particularly likeable, I think. But he’s not fundamentally a bad guy (as in, he’s mostly not doing what he does with malicious intent). He’s still a bit of a jerk though.

      That’s about what I’m getting here.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I usually play second tank (off-tank interceptor), so I think this would be very stressful for me, lol.
      But the idea was funny, so…
      classic case of fiction vs reality

      Like

      1. That’s exactly what I mean, the only way I would feel comfortable in that party would be if I was also a stealth character. But as Naru is Naru she will probably love it, though the chances of her going into bear form increases drastically in such a party.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m trying to imagine how “a guy riding behind a woman on a motorcycle at night, and all he can smell is coffee, cigarettes, and gasoline.” turned into a VRMMO slice-of-life story… I’m failing. Thanks for the chapters!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow, Kenta really is shallow. I know we’re not meant to like him, but still. “We’ve been dating for nearly a year, why won’t she bang with me?” What the heck. “It’s all her (the childhood friend’s) fault, I would have gotten laid by now otherwise” I can’t even…

    Thanks for the chapter. Kenta aside (And understand his inclusion, so not even that is really an issue), I loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I mean, he’s really not even that bad of a person, personality wise, it’s just that his perceptions and values seem rather shallow. Not the type of person I feel like I’d get along with, though at least on the surface, he seems like he’d be a relatively okay guy to have as a friend, badmouthing of some people’s lifestyles aside.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just loved the idea of Ran being Naru’s backseat bi.. rider. You know she’s gonna tease him about it too. Chie’s ex is perfect that way, as an ex. If that loser can’t trust his girlfriend then they really shouldn’t be together. Just waiting for the scene in the raid near completion where Naru goes were, does her thing, then as soon as loot and rewards are distributed answers no questions and disappears into the crowd. Poor chibi and Fen are left to answer and do the follow up. Kekekke

    Like

  5. Always nice to see Naru defy any common sense :-)

    Also nice to see a party of sub-assassins.

    Thinking of how Naru and Fen would fit on a bike. I’d love an action shot of Naru putting down some highway at ~80 km/h with Fen on the back. Holy shit that’d be funny to watch.

    Ahava is too feminine for me somehow … I think it’s the exposed breast? idk.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol. So I did get it wrong after all.
      I thought to look up which countries drink it cold vs room temp, but then I was like… it’s hipster knowledge. It’s totally okay if I got it wrong, because they’re guys acting like they know a lot about foreign beers, when they really don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m pretty sure that cold beer is an almost universal thing now, warm beer was a thing when refrigeration wasn’t as common as it is now. So warm beer in India maybe? But common refrideration = cold beer there cold beer is pretty much universal.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. i’m pretty sure room temp beer is drunk in the UK… Well, what do I know. Even if it is, I dunno if that’s the preferred method.

        Like

  6. I’m really wondering which between [Axe] and [Inheritance of the Forest Guardian] is displayed for Naru? Axe would be fine, but the other raises a lot of questions lol. If only there were a few more levels in [Bolstered Dexterity] to go along with the [Bolstered Endurance], I personally would just assume it’s for dual-wielding

    Like

    1. Oh. right. The “special” Talents aren’t shown. Gonna have to work that in somehow now…
      I mean, or I could go back and fix it in THIS chapter, but where’s the fun in that?

      Like

  7. Naru’s “fun” always ends up being Dwarf Fortress type “everyone was eaten by a vampire sloth-man” “Fun” for everyone else so this oughto be entertaining :3

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The beer thing isn’t entirely true, at least here in Germany, many people enjoy their beer cold instead of warm. But it’s true that some don’t really care.

    Like

Leave a comment