cursed 45: Cat of Fortune V: The Truth Behind the Meow

<Previous Chapter]   [Index]   [Next Chapter>

Chapter 45: Cat of Fortune V: The Truth Behind the Meow

As you might expect, Minami-san wasn’t exactly thrilled to hear the facts about her boyfriend, but to my surprise, she was pretty understanding.

“Well, this kind of thing happens from time to time…”

Minami-san’s dry laughter and forced smile made me feel super bad about our role in getting her boyfriend … arrested? … and all, but as Minami-san herself said, if it wasn’t us, it would have been someone else.

If Umeko the cat didn’t return, Boyfriend-san probably would have dumped her, too.

Haa… it still doesn’t feel good to think about, though.

But now I don’t know if my sour feelings are from pity or guilt.

A few days after that…

“ “Huh? It still hasn’t come back!?” “

Suyin and I exclaimed.

We had been returning to check up on the situation between Minami-san and her maneki neko.

Minami-san buried her face in her hands.

“I’m sure Umeko is too disappointed in me. I was so easily tricked, after all. I… I don’t know what to do…”

Erm…

Didn’t you say that she would come back as long as the boyfriend situation was fixed?

I do not think I said such a thing, no. It was all just hypothesis.

Arguing with our glares, Suyin and I sigh in unison, disappointed that we had been wrong.

At our sigh, Minami-san’s depression seemed to get even worse.

“D- don’t worry, Minami-san. We’ll, uh… we’ll look into it.”

“Th-that is right! There must be a reason, there must!”

After our (poor) attempts to comfort her, we left the store like we were running away.

Well, I mean, we kind of were.

In a bit of a panic, I asked,

“Now what do we do?”

Just as flustered, Suyin shot back,

“That is what I would like to know!”

We looked at each other once again, then sighed heavily.

Suyin shrugged her shoulders a little helplessly, saying,

“It is unfortunate, but we are back to the beginning, we are. Kousei-kun, is hulijing working today, as well?”

“Ah… yeah, but her shift is almost over.”

“Then perhaps we should wait and meet up with Honoka, then go and try to catch the zhaocaimao again –“

“Why does the cat run away?”

In between Suyin and my brainstorming, Tsurumi-chan suddenly spoke up.

Eh?

“That is what we are trying to figure out, that is!”

Suyin mimicked slapping the air as she retorted.

I’m glad she said it.

I was definitely thinking it, I really was, but I don’t think I’m close enough with Tsurumi-chan to tsukkomi at her!

It totally feels awkward.

But… yeah.

If we knew why Umeko was running away, it would make things a lot easier.

“The cat… it runs away.”

At Tsurumi-chan’s next statement, Suyin and I look at each other, then back at Tsurumi-chan

“Well, yes, that is the problem, it is,”

Suyin said, trying to keep an exasperated sigh from slipping out.

Tsurumi-chan shook her head.

“… No… I mean, it keeps running away.”

Right. That’s what we’re trying to solve, right now.

Sensing we still didn’t understand her, Tsurumi-chan’s brows furrowed a little, and then she said,

“The cat… it runs away.”

“Y-yeah.”

“Then it comes back. And then it runs away again.”

“ “… That’s true!” “

Suyin and I say.

That’s right, even though the cat ran away from home, Minami-san would still catch sight of it around the store before it darted off again.

Even now, it seems the cat keeps returning to the area, catches sight of Minami-san, then runs off again.

I mean, earlier, Minami-san said she saw Umeko just this morning.

I look at Suyin.

“That’s right. If the maneki neko is sick of staying with Minami-san, there’s no point for it to come back and then run off again.”

“Indeed. It is unnatural for it to run away so stubbornly if it is still attached, but it is also strange that it comes back if it has no attachment.”

“And it’s not like Umeko is coming back for food, either, since it doesn’t eat what Minami-san left it.”

Suyin and I bounced ideas off each other.

“Then, A-Tsu, what do you think the zhaocaimao is doing?”

Suyin finally asks Tsurumi-chan.

“What … … … …”

Tsurumi-chan tilted her head.

“… … I don’t know.”

“ “…” “

“A-ah, well, that’s great, Tsurumi-chan! I feel like we finally caught onto something!”

“That is right! A-Tsu, good job!”

Suyin grabbed Tsurumi-chan’s hands and spun her in a circle.

I’m glad you’re celebrating, Suyin, but even though it felt like we finally made a breakthrough, we still haven’t moved forward onto figuring out what’s going on.

Haa…

This case… is SUCH A PAIN.

As the afternoon shadows grow a little longer, I’m sitting by myself in the retro alleyway.

I’m more than a few stores down from Minami-san’s store, but I’m still nearby.

I’ve already seen glimpses of Minami-san’s calico maneki neko, but that thing is still fast as always.

Ugh.

Because we had tried to catch it before, the cat just darts off as soon as it sees us.

“Here, sonny. It’s on the house.”

“Eh? Uh… is that alright?”

I was crouched on the curb, debating whether I should head for home like Suyin and Tsurumi-chan did (to be fair, they had other things to do and we weren’t really getting anywhere with the case just by hanging around), when the granny from the candy store handed me a ramune.

“Fufufu. You kids are helping Minami-san look for her cat, aren’t you? You’re kind children, so of course I’ll treat good kids.”

Eh… it’s a bit embarrassing to be treated like a little kid, but the granny reminds me a little of my grandma from this life, so I don’t say much and just obediently accept the ramune with a “Thank you.”

With a sigh and a ‘heave ho,’ the granny sat on the candy store’s front step nearby.

“Sachiko really was depressed when Kyoko, her grandmother, died. Haa… Sa-chan was so cute when she was a child, following behind her grandmother and imitating her. The two of them really were close, you know? But when Kyoko died, a lot of Kyoko’s things were sold off by Sachiko’s mother – that is, Kyoko’s daughter-in-law. All Sachiko had left to remember her grandmother was the store and that little cat. Sachiko’s been lonely, you know.”

Ah… that’s a shame.

I feel a little depressed after hearing about Minami-san’s grandmother.

I can’t help but wonder how my parents and little brother are doing now.

I hope my death didn’t affect them too much, but … realistically speaking, there’s no way that’s true, right?

“Ah, don’t get it wrong, Sachiko’s mother and Kyoko got along fine, but they weren’t really well off, so Sachiko’s mother sold the things off to pay off their debts. Kyoko said for them to do so in the will.”

The granny said suddenly, waving her hand as she realized that what she said could be misinterpreted.

“Ahaha, I get it. But I see, that’s why Minami-san is so upset that the cat ran away.”

“Ah, that’s right. Umeko-chan was extremely precious to Kyoko, after all. Kyoko loved that cat so much. She even said, ‘This cat is MY maneki neko. It will guide the good things into my store!’”

The granny lowered her voice a little and whispered,

“Sometimes, I felt like she might have been right. Even though most of us in a touristy area like this sell similar souvenirs from the same suppliers, Kyoko – she never ran out of interesting and good things that would catch the eyes of the tourists.”

Well, the cat is a real maneki neko after all… wait.

“So she said the cat guides the good things in?”

Maneki neko… maneki … right, I didn’t really think about it, but maneki neko … it’s literally a cat that beckons or invites, isn’t it?

“Well, Kyoko was a little weird sometimes, so she would also say sometimes Umeko-chan would lead her to good opportunities, too. It leads you to good things and guides good things to you – I always wanted to say, ‘Even if you are a fortune teller, as if you could get that kind of a lucky cat!’ But … it’s true that the cat helped Kyoko a lot when her husband died. It would have been good if it would help stave off Sachiko’s loneliness too…”

I feel like I’ve finally caught the tail of the situation.

“I see. Thanks, Granny. I’m going to do my best!”

When I stand suddenly, the candy store granny is a little surprised but says,

“O-ou… ah, don’t push yourself too hard.”

“I won’t. Thanks for the ramune and the talk!”

Well, even though I stood up and ran off, I don’t really know where to go.

Dangit… if Umeko keeps running away when I approach it, even if I think I understand what’s going on, I’m not going to be able to get anywhere – ah!

Just when I was thinking that, there that dang cat is!

“Mrow!”

As usual, Umeko turns to dart off, but this time, out of nowhere…

“Hello there. Would you mind not running?”

“…!!!!!!!”

Ah.

This is the first time Umeko’s met Honoka, and as a magical beast from THIS side, it knows what Honoka is right away.

I mean, Honoka is definitely not hiding her “I’m a big bad fox” aura right now.

With bulging eyes, the maneki neko froze right where it stood, puffing up in fear until it was very nearly a round puffball.

Since it had been just about to run off, it can’t be helped that it fell over, I guess.

Um… good job, Honoka?

I breathe a little sigh of relief.

I walk up to the frozen cat.

“Don’t worry, we aren’t going to try to catch you.”

I ignore Honoka’s, “We aren’t?” and continue.

“I just wanted to ask a question. Are you trying to show us something?”

The cat still doesn’t move.

Hm…

“Sorry. I mean, are you trying to show Minami-san something?”

Since maneki neko’s are quite intelligent, which makes sense since they can tell what’s “good” and what’s “bad” for their owners, it actually does understand me and its fur slowly returns to normal as it looks at me and made a soft meow.

“Haa… so that’s what it was. Okay. Fine. I’ll try to help.”

I pet the cat on the head and went back to Minami-san’s.

“Hmph.”

Eh? Why is my familiar so sulky?

On the way over, Honoka is pouting after letting the poor, terrified cat off the hook.

“… What’s wrong with you?”

“… … … Cheater.”

WHY!?

Ugh… Looks like I’m going to have to pet her in her fox form a lot later.

Was she always this childish!?

… No, right, she was singing anime songs nonstop when I first ‘met’ her.

I sigh, pet her on the head (which is visually awkward since she’s a little taller than me), and enter Minami-san’s shop.

“Eh? Follow Umeko? … But won’t she hate me if I chase her?”

Minami-san said.

As I thought.

Minami-san was so scared of making Umeko hate her that she’s never chased after her.

“I think she wants you to chase her. Tsurumi-chan said that earlier, that if Umeko keeps coming back but runs off when you see her, maybe it’s because she wants you to follow her.”

Although Tsurumi-chan only said half of that, but don’t mind the details.

Minami-san nodded.

“Okay. T-tomorrow, I’ll try my best… … um…”

Hm?

“What is it?”

I ask.

“Um… sorry, but… I’m scared. Can all of you come with me?”

… If you think Umeko will be upset if you chase her, won’t it make it worse if there are more people?

But, well, I also understand why Minami-san is so scared.

She originally has a timid nature, after all, and she’s terrified of losing one of her last links to her grandmother.

And, well, I actually do know that Umeko wants to be followed, so I’m not really super worried about it.

“Okay. We’ll come, but just in case Umeko wants you to come alone, we’ll be following in secret.”

She’s not super pleased, since she wanted us as emotional support, but Minami-san nods as Honoka and I leave the shop.

I mean… I’m also super curious about what Umeko wants to show her, you know!?

As we leave the shop, Honoka suddenly turns to look at the bushes and ferns that grow densely on top of the retaining near the shop.

Two glowing blue eyes peered out at us.

“The cat.”

Honoka sends me telepathically, confirming Umeko was hiding up there.

“Minami-san said she’d do her best to follow you tomorrow afternoon.”

I called out to it, and a soft meow melted into the air as the ferns rustled a little and the pair of eyes retreated and disappeared.

The next day…

“…”

“…”

“…”

Three very suspicious looking teenagers and an adult-ish fox peered out from the alleyway at the scene in front of us.

“M-Minami-san! Ah… as I thought, this was your cat after all. I thought it was, but it would run off every time I tried to approach it to bring it back to you.”

“E-eh… N-no, thank you for your work as always…”

O-oi… what’s with this pink aura?

A gentle-looking man with glasses covered in bamboo shavings with a tenugui cloth wrapped around his head was blushing as he spoke with the equally awkward Minami-san.

“Who is that?”

I whispered to the others.

Of course Honoka doesn’t know, but the others might.

“I wonder…”

… Suyin doesn’t know either.

“Bamboo… artisan … apprentice. Famous store.”

Um… so according to Tsurumi-chan, this is a famous workshop known for its ornate bamboo woodworks, and that man’s an apprentice?

Ah… I think I saw some really elaborate bamboo baskets in Minami-san’s store.

They might be from here.

But…

“… This… it’s kind of love-like?”

“Yup.”

“Love-like it is.”

Honoka and Suyin agreed verbally while Tsurumi-chan just nodded, but all of us agree.

“That dang matchmaking cat!”

I can’t help but sigh in exasperation.

So that cat really did disapprove of Minami-san’s boyfriend – and went out to find another one for her!

Ahhh geez, ahhh geez, this idiot cat and owner!

Feeling like I’ve just wasted this entire week, the others and I turn to leave quietly, so as not to disturb the two potential lovebirds.

As we did so, Umeko suddenly walked over, holding her head up proudly and waving her tail.

“Meow!”

She gave a small cry as she twined around my legs before leaping onto the retaining wall along the sidewalk and scampering off, back towards Minami-san’s store.

“… Was that a thank you?”

I asked.

“Hm… I believe it called a little bit of luck in for you.”

Honoka replied.

Eh…

“Uh… with good luck comes bad luck following right after, right? Like, because you get good luck you shouldn’t get otherwise, bad luck has to occur to balance it out?”

I’m a bit concerned.

I mean, that’s the common story, right?

Getting something good with magic always comes with bad consequences or something?

“Nonono, it is not a monkey’s paw or fatecaller or any suspicious device like that. The zhaocaimao is a magical beast that can call small opportunities of good fortune without disrupting the natural order. That is why the mao is so highly sought after, it is.”

Suyin quickly corrected me.

I’m still a little uneasy, but no use worrying about it?

A few days later, Minami-san reported that Umeko was properly returning home now, although she would still run off to that bamboo workshop, making Minami-san have to go get her.

According to the candy store granny, Minami-san and that bamboo crafter apprentice aren’t dating yet, but it’s only a matter of time.

As for me…

“Kousei-kun! We were sent a huge haul today! Here! You’ve gotta feed that young lady and Mr Police Officer, right? Go on, take it, take it!”

“Eh… really? But…”

“No, no! I insist! It’ll just rot if we don’t sell it anyway! Or worse, we’ll have to eat smelt every day!”

The owner of the local mom-and-pop fish stand, whose fisherman son sends fresh fish from the coast every morning, gave me three free smelts with my purchase one day.

A little bit of good luck isn’t too bad once in a while.


<Previous Chapter]   [Index]   [Next Chapter>


<a/n: End of the maneki neko arc
baiyuyi chap 22 also up>

7 comments

  1. As we leave the shop, Honoka suddenly turns to look at the bushes and ferns that grow densely on top of the retaining *wall* near the shop.

    *missing word?

    Like

  2. D’aww.

    >“… This… it’s kind of love-like?”

    >“Yup.”

    >“Love-like it is.”

    helvetica stan-dard~

    Like

Leave a comment