oristo 66: Guild Master?

<Previous Chapter] [Index] [Next Chapter>

Chapter 66: Guild Master?

There are a looot of players at Larcost’s Adventurer’s Guild~.

“So everyone gets this Forerunner quest, huh?”

“Yah, basically. But not everyone gets the Adventurer’s Guild as the destination. Some go to the Commerce Guild, or a crafting guild, or something like that.”

Mega Obentou and I are sitting at the tavern in the Adventurer’s Guild, watching the long line of players signing up to be adventurers.

I had already ‘reported in’, but they told me to wait for a second as they confirmed something.

There were a few other people who got that kind of treatment, but not very many people did.

If I had to guess the criteria for who gets told to wait and who doesn’t … Raid participation?

Or maybe being within the top however many in the BR(battle rating) rankings?

Anyway, Bentou’s hanging out with me after he met with a senior staff member of the Guild.

“… So the destination for the quest is a professional guild you’re related to, otherwise you get carted to the Adventurer’s Guild by default?”

I ask.

“Seems like it. Although you don’t have to register as an Adventurer to get the quest rewards.”

“Literally just ‘report in’, huh?”

“Yah. Although, the Player Mission board is now part of the Adventurer’s Guild, so there’s that too. I bet some of the people who got sent to one of the other guilds will probably come and sign up as adventurers even without the quest.”

“Makes sense.”

Sluuurrp.

“… Man, this beer sucks.”

“Yuuup.”

It’s the cheapest NPC alcohol on the list so I’m not sure what Bentou’s expecting, but I agree.

It SUCKS.

Not like that’s going to stop us from drinking it all, though~.

After draining his tankard, Bentou slams it on the table with a burp.

“Didn’t you say Jo knew a guy?”

He asked.

“Yeah, but I haven’t met him yet, so I dunno how that all’s going.”

We’re talking about a guy who calls himself Nomisuke, who’s into trying to brew alcohol in game.

“Dang. Because of the ‘new game’ release, it will probably take him even longer to get around to figuring out how to make liquor, huh?”

Bentou complained.

“Who knows. There are new mechanics for crafting and production, apparently, so conversely he might finally be able to make it?”

As we chatted idly about this and that, a Guild staff NPC approaches us.

In OS: Genesis, you can’t tell who’s an NPC or a player by sight anymore; they nixed the whole color-coded name-and-title templates over our heads and inserted a new Talent called [Appraisal].

Players who had taken over 10 Talents (not including the origin story Talents) with an average level of 35 got 5 free Talent Points on login, so I already took it.

Anyway, only by using [Appraisal] will you have even a chance at knowing who’s who, and the higher your [Appraisal] level the greater the chance at getting useful information.

Of course, there’s the upgradeable Skills <Appraise> and <Appraisal Block> which both have their own Skill trees… it’s complicated.

Regardless, I don’t have to use <Appraise> to know this staff member is an NPC since she’s, well, a Guild staff member.

As Glasses-nee-chan stops at our table, she shifts her glasses and says,

“Excuse me, Naruesin? If you would please come with me, the Guild Master would like to see you.”

Skreech-!

It was almost like a record scratched to a halt as everyone within hearing range stopped what they were doing and turned to look at us.

Hahaha… okay, yeah, this attracted everyone’s attention.

Looks like getting called out by the Guild Master isn’t super common.

Wait, why does the Guild Master want to see me?

I just logged in, so there’s no way I got into trouble this early, right?

I totally feel like I’m back in high school, getting called to go to the teacher’s office.

Still, gotta play it cool.

“’Aight, guess that’s me.”

I give a snarky salute to Bentou, who’s just staring open-mouthed, and follow after Glasses-nee-chan.

I’m completely ignoring the explosion of gossip that’s going on after I follow her up the back stairs and out of sight of the main hall.

“So can you tell me why I’m getting called by the Guild Master, Miss?”

I can’t help but ask as she leads me towards what’s obviously the Guild Master’s door.

“Please reserve all questions for when we arrive at the Guild Master’s office.”

Glint-!

Glasses can be scary when a cold woman wears them, huh?

Although I guess some people would think it’s a reward when a beauty like this is wearing them.

With that, Glasses-nee-chan, er, Glasses-san turned sharply, opened the door sharply, and showed me in sharply.

Bang!

…Eh? That’s it?

She’s just going to shove me in the room and leave?

I mean, I guess there’s no need for a witness or whatever.

Probably.

Inside the room was, well, it was your typical ‘Adventurer’s Guild’s Guild Master’s office’; a desk, two sofas with a coffee table between them.

On one of the sofas, facing the door, a woman who looked not-quite-middle-aged with a figure clearly used to moving her body was looking up at me expectantly.

“So you’re Naruesin. I’ve been expecting you. My name is Hadley.”

“Ah, yeah. It’s fine just to call me Naru, though.”

I might be acting rude, but adventurers are supposed to be the rough kind, so it’s fine to ignore the polite greetings and just sit down?

“So? What’d you need me for, Guild Master?”

I tilted my head back a little and waved my hand lazily.

Guild Master Hadley coughed in an embarrassed way.

“About that … actually, I’m only the temporary acting Guild Master at the moment, so you can just call me Hadley. As for why you were called, it’s actually quite related. Miss Naruesin, won’t you become the Western Alliance’s Main Adventurer’s Guild’s Guild Master?”

… … 404 error. Article not found.

“… What?”

“Exactly as I said. Larcost Adventurer’s Guild is the Western Alliance’s Main Adventurer’s Guild, so in other words I’m asking you to become Larcost Adventurer Guild’s Guild Master.”

No, clarifying where you’re asking me to be the Guild Master is not actually helpful in this situation.

“Explain to me. Why are you looking for a player to be the Guild Master?”

I half expected Guild Master(temp) Hadley to be unable to parse what I meant by ‘player’, but she didn’t even flinch in confusion.

“There are benefits to have from having someone in charge who actually has the experience and mindset of the adventurers. I may be a senior ranking officer of the Wayfarer’s Society, but my knowledge is more book based than experience based. So, wouldn’t you like to be a Guild Master?”

“No way~!”

In response to your sweet smile and courteous request, I can only give an immediate answer of refusal!

Temporary Guild Master Hadley is looking like I just told her that her dog died or something, but I can’t help but smirk while asking,

“Asking me to see the Guild Master then telling me to be the Guild Master … ain’t this a bad joke, ah?”

I give a grin with maybe a few too many teeth as I narrow my eyes at the Guild Master(temp), slouching to lean my head on my hand.

“Look, I know you guys said you wanted someone who’s done actual adventuring to be the Guild Master, but did you actually think someone like me would be the kind of person would want to be tied down to a job like this?”

Well, some of them might, but let’s just ignore that.

“In the Adventurer’s Guild, it’s more than acceptable for the Guild Master and Vice Guild Master of any Guild to work remotely and at his or her leisure as long as one of them remains at the Adventurer’s Guild. The perks for being a Guild Master, especially for a Main Guild, would be very beneficial, you know. It’s practically diplomatic immunity for almost all Alliance territories. You would have automatic access to many forbidden zones.”

“I mean, that sounds great~ … but it’s not exactly free, is it?”

I can’t help but laugh, and Guild Master(temp) Hadley flinches at THAT.

“O-of course there are some … duties… … like presiding over meetings … dealing with nobles’ inquiries … mediate major conflicts among adventurers … head major operations…”

“Hahahaha- No. Thanks.”

Look, it’s not like I hate responsibility, but I kind of actually hate responsibility, and freedom from laws and restrictions would OBVIOUSLY come with a shit-ton of responsibilities.

This is an MMO; there’s no way they’re going to give any player the complete freedom to do as they please without giving them limitations.

The rest of the player base would flip their shit.

At my second refusal, Guild Master(temp) Hadley started to look a little panicked.

“Of course you’d have a Vice Guild Master to help deal with -”

“That’s nice, but no.”

“The pay is quite high -”

“Uh-huh. Not interested.”

“Special opportunities-”

“Now THAT is interesting, but nope.”

With every repeated refusal, Guild Master Hadley seemed to slump more and more.

Finally, she sighed and said,

“I understand your point, really, I do … but really, you were the only candidate we were considering…”

“Well I guess you’re promoted to Permanent Guild Master, huh?”

There was silence before Guild Master Hadley sighed heavily, holding a hand to her forehead.

“I guess that’s how it’s going to be. I can’t say I wasn’t expecting this, but I was told to try my best to recruit you by the Central Adventurer’s Guild, so please forgive me for being so pushy.”

If I’m reading it correctly, then each Alliance has a Main Adventurer’s Guild that oversees all the Adventurer’s Guilds within their Alliance’s territory, but now it seems that this Central Adventurer’s Guild oversees the Main Adventurer’s Guilds.

I get overbearing superiors, so let’s just let it go.

“Nah, that’s fine, forget about it. By the way, I wanted to register as an Adventurer, so this ain’t gonna make any complications in the matter, right…?”

Guild Master Hadley just laughed.

“No, it won’t. Well, it would have been nice to work with you as your Vice Guild Master, but it seems it isn’t meant to be.”

As I thought, Hadley was qualified for the position anyway.

There’s no way the devs wouldn’t pair an ignorant player with an NPC who could actually run the Guild as the player bumbles around.

Anyway, after I refused to be the Guild Master of the Western Alliance Adventurer’s Main Guild, Guild Master Hadley let me finish the registration as an adventurer in her office.

As always, ‘paperwork’ is completed in a much more sci-fi manner than a fantasy VRMMORPG would lead you to believe, but since players can produce sci-fi screens and answer calls from their status screens, I think it’s fine for them to include easy-input screens when registering for different groups and stuff.

I mean, OriSto: Genesis isn’t trying to NOT be a game, even as they’re trying to push the limits between NPCs and players, so why not have the gamey mechanics included in the rest of the world too?

Once I finished registering, my business with the Adventurer’s Guild is done.

Eh? What about the Forerunner Quest?

That was done earlier, when I reported in to the receptionist.

I already have the buff for +200% ExP, and I assume my rep increased with all factions.

Apparently there are factions that will only appear in your Reputation Tab once you fulfill certain conditions, like actually introducing yourself to the faction or entering their territory, so although I can confirm my reputation increased by 100 to all the factions listed in my tab, I’m going to have to just assume that the game’s doing the bookkeeping for the factions not listed.

Welp, time to go.

“A’ight then, Miss Guild Master, if that’s all -”

“Hold on, there. Now that you’re officially an adventurer, there’s a designated request with your name on it.”

As I stand up, lifting a hand to say goodbye, I get stopped by Guild Master Hadley.

She slides two pieces of paper across the table at me.

Hadley –

After careful consideration, we are requesting you to recruit an unregistered adventurer, Naruesin, to become the Larcost Adventurer’s Guild’s Guild Master due to her achievements and fame. We believe her to be a very beneficial force to be added to the Adventuer’s Guild, and hope that you will make every effort in this endeavor. However, if she should choose to refuse regardless, we have included a designated request within.
-Central Adventurer’s Guild, Head Secretary Azar

“… What the fuck is this?”

Sorry, but I’ve got a bad feeling about this.

If it’s something piggybacking off an annoying request like ‘Be the Guild Master,’ then whatever’s waiting for me where ever this is taking me can’t be much better.

Guild Master Hadley just smiles sweetly, and I hear the ding of the quest log updating like it’s confirming my suspicions.

Welcome to the Adventurer’s Guild has updated to Welcome to the Adventurer’s Guild 2, +100 fame with the Larcost Adventurer’s Guild.

Welcome to the Adventurer’s Guild 2
The Central Adventurer’s Guild
CHAIN QUEST
Rarity: Legendary Unique
Difficulty: n/a

The Central Adventurer’s Guild, located on the floating island city, Fool’s Perch, has requested your presence should you reject the position of Larcost’s Adventurer’s Guild Master.

Task: Travel to the Central Adventurer’s Guild
Rewards: n/a

The rewards are still n/a, but I did get fame for completing the first quest of the quest chain.

… Why do I feel like the devs are telling me, ‘We don’t know what you’ll do, so how do you expect us to calculate your rewards?’

Heh.

Heheh.

Fine, it’s more fun this way-!

“Alright, fine. So I need to head to Fool’s Perch?”

I open up my Map Window.

The World Map shows that North-South-East-West continents are divided by an ocean in the middle, and Fool’s Perch is located in the middle of the ocean – er, above it.

Unfortunately, the map is just a basic political map, showing main cities and boundaries, so there’s no indication of ship docks or airship docks or any other transportation hub…

Oh right, I’m a Scribe so I should take a look into getting more detailed maps from the NPCs later.

“Yes. Fool’s Perch is a man-made floating island produced to be neutral land, but you need some sort of status or official business to be allowed to travel to it. Congratulations, you qualify.”

“That’s … good? So how do I get there?”

When I asked that, Guild Master Hadley stood up with a, “Right this way,” and led me out of her office and down the hall to a nearby room.

“This teleportal is connected to all the Main Guilds, all the branch Guilds in the Western Alliance, and the Central Guild. As you might expect, not many people are permitted to use it.”

“But I am?”

“Since you have a designated request to go to the Central Adventurer’s Guild by the Central Adventurer’s Guild, of course you have permission. For this request.”

So it’s a one-time use, huh?

“Alright, so then… I’m off?”

Guild Master Hadley gave me a wave as I started to activate the teleportal, hesitated, and then said,

“Well, good luck.”

… That’s always a good sign.

Pft. Forget it. Whatever’s gonna happen’s gonna happen.

One disorienting teleport later, I find myself in a well-lit room.

Unlike the small teleportal room in Larcost Adventurer’s Guild, the teleportal in the Central Adventurer’s Guild is in the middle of a large hall surrounded by archways leading into other parts of the Guild.

There are also Central Guild staff manning counters nearby – I mean, it kind of looks like a customs area in the airport.

I guess the teleportal in the Central Guild gets more action than the ones in the other Adventurer’s Guild, since it’s difficult to reach the floating island the Central Guild is located on through other means, so naturally they have streamlined the process of filtering people to the right places after they teleport in.

I quickly reported in to a receptionist, was directed further into the Guild, and once again I found myself being led to another Guild Master’s office.

Within is a rugged ossan sitting at the large desk, a bronze-skinned elf woman standing next to him.

“I see, I see, so you’re the adventurer, Naruesin! So, how about becoming the Central Guild’s Vice-Guild Master.”

Not. Again.

I don’t even bother controlling my eyeroll – I mean, free experience as I progress through the chain quest is more than welcome, but still.

Why the fuck did the devs even think I’d be interested in this crap?!


<Previous Chapter] [Index] [Next Chapter>


<a/n: Ugh, cut off before the good part… *whines*
Oh well.
The quest is progressing this way because the devs had to tick off points in a system regarding Naru’s previous achievements. These Guild Master/Vice Guild Master quests are based on being THE quest taker of the Raid (although she transferred the quest leader position to the Chibi), being the largest contributor to the Wayfarer’s Society, having the highest level [Discovery], and being within the top 5 BR in OriSto by the end of its run (she was overtaken by DragonSentinel(not really introduced yet) last minute and placed 2nd in the ranking).
There might be other things, but I’m too lazy to micro analyze everything Naru did, and I think that’s enough to justify the devs requiring her to at least go through the motions of being offered (Vice) GMaster positions, even if they know she’ll probs refuse.

I AM working on Fluvia, just had to take a bit of a step back and analyze things>

18 comments

  1. I love me some Axebear. Anyhow klinH, I’ve always said that, although you’ll hear some bitching and moaning, all of us would understand if you put Fluvia on a 1/month rotation so you don’t burn out on it. It’s a great story but you do what you gotta do to be comfortable releasing things in a *cough* timely *cough* manner. Isn’t that why you have like 20 different original stories floating around(besides writer ADD)? So you can flip back and forth as the muse takes you and the blocks come up? I love all your stuff(cept maybe the white lotus, not really my thing) so as long as you put out SOMETHING I’m going to be happy.

    Like

    1. Naru is filtering my snarky side and has all my good comebacks … it’s just SHE doesn’t take about two days after the fact to think of them.
      #notascoolasnaru

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “It was almost like a record scratched to a halt as everyone within hearing range stopped what they were doing and turned to look at us.”

    Reminds me of that commercial, “So my broker is E. F. Hutton and he says…..”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. While I approve of the absolute power move that is electing someone lovingly nicknamed “AxeBear”, what in the world would they do if she said yes? Try to bore her into an early retirement with endless meetings?

    Also, did someone say Fluvia? You have my attention =D

    Like

  4. I think I recognize the problem here. If the original Origin Story (orioristo) had gone on longer, then maybe the metrics the devs were looking at would have meant something — if the game had gone for a year or two before the rug pull, and Naru *still* had those achieves, she might have had the personality to accept the position. But over such a short time period (a few months? maybe?), it really kinda represents Naru’s recklessness, not her diligence. 🤔

    Like

  5. Hahaha! Its like the devs are trying very hard to prevent Naru from going wild and prematurely finishing endgame content again. Thank you for your efforts! The story so far has been a ride and a half~ 😁

    Like

  6. I never understood the logic behind giving a person that is an expert out in the field and actually doing things, a desk job, and dealing with paperwork they have no idea about and handling yelling idiots about how ‘great’ or ‘important’ they are and therefore should be prioritized over something actually critical.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lol that poor guild master (temp) turned full guild master. Wonder if that glasses cold secretary will become the vice guild master then? :P Although breaking up fights could be a bit difficult if the guild master is more of a book person. But she’s probably capable enough anyways.
    Very funny chapter with the guild master rejections, I very much enjoyed it XD

    Like

  8. So Naru is stuck in a fantasy version of a time share meeting?

    “Oh if you are that determined to decline then I guess it can’t be helped. But since you are going you might as well check to see what was in the mystery box. I mean we went through all the trouble of putting it together for you, you might as well take just one moment see what is inside.”

    Like

    1. “Gasp! You won the supper rare Dragon Mount! All you need to do to claim your prize, is to fill out these minor forms to become the supreme gild master and the Dragon Mount is yours!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment