wfb 125

   [Index]     [Next Chapter>

Chapter 125: Security is always a pain to deal with

The stairs sweep up around the tree trunk, leading up to a grand terrace with the main entrance to the tree-mansion.

There are guards stationed at the bottom, middle, and top of the staircase, as well as four standing in front of the main entrance.

Is this kind of security really necessary?

I mean, the tall staircase itself is totally already a deterrent for anyone to actually approach the house part.

… I guess this person is technically a diplomat, so this kind of security isn’t actually that ridiculous.

Seimei-san had about this many guards stationed at his house, too, when he was in Nyl City.

Although I haven’t seen how many guards there are inside this mansion, I guess.

… Whoa. There’s a lot of guards inside.

When we enter the mansion, an open ceiling foyer greeted us.

It’s covered in a material that looks like marble, but I don’t think it is.

There are at least eight guards inside, four lined up on each side of the doorway, and some more standing around the room.

They have swords sheathed at their hips, but the guards are carrying spears as their main weapon.

… I want to take a closer look.

Is that magic aura from an enchantment or the alloy…

“Please remove and leave all your weapons here. Also, leave your bags and baggage here”

Unexpectedly, we were forced to remove all of our weapons and stuff right at the door.

No, well, I mean, it’s a diplomat’s house, so I get it, but it’s certainly a bit annoying.

….Now that I think about it, Ragnall and Desmond-san were totally already expecting it, weren’t they?

So that’s why they didn’t bother bringing much with them.

Ragnall looks a little irked that he has to hand over his weapons, but he doesn’t bother putting up a fuss.

I mean, they’re nobles, basically, so, yeah.

Do or die, or whatever.

As for me…

Okay, yeah, I have a nodachi and a knife to hand over, but…

… What do I do about the stuff in my Inventory?

Um…

Yeah, I guess I’ll just pretend I don’t have anything.

I mean, it’s always good to hang onto some weapons, just in case, right?

Since I don’t have any intentions to use them, it should be fine.

Just so you know, it’s totally not because I think it’ll be a huge pain to unload my Inventory and then reload it.

… Seriously, I have a crap ton of stuff.

Like hell I’ll leave it all here just to have to put it all back later.

I wonder if it’d even all fit in the front foyer.

…. Hah! I mean… I don’t have many other weapons on me… not at all…

As the guards were doing a precursory scan on us for dangerous substances (using magic, of course) and confirming our identities (I don’t remember people so blatantly using Analyze on us before… probably because Unaffiliated territories are lawless zones so no one bothers), footsteps came down the arching stairway that led up to the second floor balcony.

When I looked up, a deep elf that was more ‘yellow’ than the ‘green’ feel that Desmond gives off, was coming down the stairs.

… His face totally looks like he’s looking down on us, huh?

“What a great combination. An exile, a heathen and … a human?”

… The guy was trying to sound condescending, but that last part kind of ruins it.

Looks like he couldn’t think of a bad moniker to call me – eh?

Wait. He could tell Ragnall’s not a human?

I mean, Ragnall’s nickname is the White Demon, but it’s not actually widespread that he’s a half-demon.
A ‘half-demon’ is anyone who has any amount of demon and human in them

I mean, Ragnall is such a small part demon that it said ‘Human’ when I used Analyze4, so I’d assume that regular Analyze says the same.

But … why ‘heathen’?

Come to think of it, what were the gods like in this world again?

No one’s been able to tell us yet, so…

“… Sir Liadain. Is Her Excellency Maeve in?”

Desmond-san has a bit of a strained smile on his face as he talks to the guy.

“Her Excellency is finishing up other business and can’t be bothered to welcome you right now. She will be down in a little while.”

Desmond-san nods wordlessly as we’re taken into a room that looks like it’s supposed to entertain guests.

As we sit, a tray of glasses are brought in.

Instead of maids or maidservants, it’s guards doing the serving here too, huh?

N-not that I was looking forward to seeing maid elves or anything…

“Well, then. To our meeting.”

Liadain-san, the deep elf who ‘welcomed’ us, took a separate glass a guard had handed us, and offered a toast.

Is this… wine?

Maybe I can pretend to drink it.

I’m not that good with the bitter taste…

Suddenly, Ragnall grabbed my hand.

Clumsily.

Splash.

Ah.

Under the pressure from Ragnall’s hand, I accidentally spilled the glass.

Desmond and I look at Ragnall in confusion.

I mean, it’s Ragnall, who was chosen in Nyls due to his ability to handle nobles to be a bodyguard for Seimei-san.

For him to stop me from drinking to a toast, I assume there’s a reason.

“… … …”

Ragnall presses several curled fingers to his mouth.

… He’s suddenly quite pale.

His face is also quite serious, and he looks like he’s attempting not to throw up.

There’s no doubt he drank the wine, so… food poisoning?

No way, it wouldn’t work so fast.

So then…

“What is the meaning to this? It seems you’ve been keeping worse and worse company, Desmond. A heathen who can’t even drink what’s offered to him. How abysmally rude.”

I ignore Liadain as I lean in to hear Ragnall mutter,

“Mana … disperser.”

“Ah… mixed into it?”

Come to think of it, I didn’t bother analyzing the drink, since it was offered by a diplomat’s household, but perhaps that was a bad move after all.

I’m just not used to using Skills…

When I used on the liquid on the ground, it certainly does seem abnormally devoid of magic.

“… Just what have you done?”

Desmond-san’s voice drops considerably lower as he almost growls his words out.

Sir Liadain sniffs.

“Do you really think we’d allow a potentially dangerous subject like yourself approach Her Excellency without ensuring that you could do no harm? It’s only natural that we’d have you take a mana disperser for safety.”

“But normally one would inform us of the mana disperser!”

“It was properly diluted to ensure no harm to the body, so what’s the problem? Although it is unfortunate that an accident happened. Or are you questioning our methods?”

It doesn’t sound like the deep elf diplomat intended to hurt us or anything – it’s just Ragnall’s unusual constitution being a problem – but I’m also pretty annoyed that he didn’t inform us about it.

And he doesn’t sound apologetic in the slightest about Ragnall’s case.

Hey dude, this isn’t to the degree of accidentally forgetting to mention there’s beef broth in a vegetable soup for a vegetarian.

It’s more like neglecting to mention the chef spit in your food.

…Yeah, this really pisses me off, but I’ll let Desmond-san fight it out with Liadain-san for now.

I mean, I guess I should do something about Ragnall, right?

Aw man, he doesn’t look good at all.

But the reaction also isn’t as bad as the time from when Ragnall had a whole pouch of mana disperser thrown at him, even though he ingested it this time, so I think it would technically be more dangerous for him.

Is it because the amount is a lot less, or because a lot of his mana passages were healed by me… well it’s probably both, but he still looks pale as death and sick as a dog.

Luckily I asked Seimei to send some of Ragnall’s medicine over from Lor earlier.

And I forgot – I mean, I didn’t hand it over to Ragnall right after I got it, so it’s in my Inventory.

Even if Ragnall had any on him, all of our stuff got confiscated at security earlier.

“Right, here.”

I pull it out and hand it over.

… What? Don’t look that confused.

You usually don’t bother with the details, so just ignore them this time, too.

It looks like he had the same idea, since Ragnall just kind of brushed his confusion aside and took the vial of medicine.

Clang.

“Desmond. Just what is the meaning of inviting someone with an undetectable Storage ability?”

Achyaa… Mr. High-and-Mighty Deep Elf-sama looks pretty pissed for some reason, and all the guards have pointed their weapons at us in a circle.

… … … Oh, right.

Storage is a rare ability, and assassination attempts, blah blah blah.

Ugh, this guy really is pissing me off.

I’m obviously not trying to hide the fact that I have something like Storage (Inventory), okay?

It was just a pain in the ass to deal with… well, I guess its still a pain in the ass to deal with.

Chill out.

“… … That’s not the reason I brought her along. She’s an important witness-“

“Enough!”

Liadain-san swung his arm down and the guards advanced.

… Oh come on.

He’s being so hasty; it’s too obvious you were looking for an excuse to attack us.

I reach out to destroy the guards’ spears, but … yeah, the spears aren’t at fault, so I change my mind.

I’ll have you know, although I’m still learning how to cast spells through Light Magic, I’m very, very good at manipulating Light Magic.

And anything organic has passive Light Magic coursing through their veins, and Deep Elves have an especially large amount in them.

… Please stop thinking that I’ll do something that would make it into a splatter film.

There’s no way I’ll do some Northstar-like effect; I’m really bad with blood, okay?

Anyway, as the guards close in, I erect a non-attribute Barrier and throw out a large wave of Light Magic, similar to the Search spell, but this time I’m letting it affect its surroundings.

Or rather, I want it to.

As expected, except for Desmond, who’s behind the Barrier with Ragnall and me, all the deep elves in the front room stumble and fall to the ground.

It’s not like I made them unconscious or anything; with the wave of Light Magic at knee-level, it knocked into the guards’ knees and caused them to buckle a little.

Yeah, I kind of made an aoe tapping-behind-the-knee spell.

It feels a little like an extravagant schoolboy prank, but I don’t really care about the feelings of these guys, so who cares if it’s low-class?

I huff a little, glaring at the guards, before I say,

“… Desmond-san, do we have to speak with these guys? I’m pretty sure we could just brute-force our way in to wherever we’re going.”

… Am I beginning to think more like a muscle-head?

I should probably reflect on this.

As I think about that kind of thing, Desmond-san, with his hand over his face, heaves a sigh and says,

“Even if we entertain that kind of possibility, it’s not really that great for diplomacy…”

Oh, right.

Y’know, with the Guild Quest for the Forge looming ahead, I forgot about why we have to go to Deep Elf Territory.

Masaki always said I had a bad habit of only remembering the things I’m interested in…

Well, damn.

So, even though it was a prank-ish spell, I kind of just attacked the guards of the deep elf diplomat… R-ragnall?

Help?

As I was slightly panicking, trying to find a way out of the situation, all the guards suddenly stood up at the same time.

Oh, crap.

So we’re gonna fight now-?

BAM!

A loud thud resounded through the foyer, startling me, as all the guards kneel down, with an arm on their knee.

Uh…

All the deep elves have taken a knee, and Liadain-san very nearly prostrated himself, trembling on the ground.

I think it can’t be helped that I’m a bit confused.

“… What is going on?”

I asked.

“… How should I know? I’m a heathen, remember?”

Ragnall, who was already feeling a little better after taking his medicine, couldn’t help remarking sarcastically as he looked over the scene in confusion.


   [Index]     [Next Chapter>


<a/n: Sorry for the delays; I’ve been super melancholic, which makes writing a little difficult.
Over 7 years ago a friend of mine I grew up with killed a man and then shot himself. I don’t know if there’s anything quite like receiving that sort of news. It always seems to come out of nowhere, and at first the words don’t make sense. Then, half a minute later, it feels like all the sound got sucked out of the room and the floor falls out.
That first 5 minutes after you find out someone you knew relatively well died to violence is a sensation I don’t wish on anyone.
I got a bit of flack for mourning him, since he was definitely the ‘bad guy’ in the situation, but I think it’s okay to be sad about sad things. I feel grief for his victim and the bereaved, AND I feel grief for him having gotten to a point where this felt like an acceptable solution. I don’t understand why that has to be mutually exclusive… but I digress.

The reason this has hit me so hard again, so many years later, is because an in-law’s close relative was the victim in a very similar situation very recently.
I feel like this due to being a friend of ‘the perpetrator’. I can’t even imagine the emotions he’s going through right now.
And this is why I get really frustrated at surface-level comforting – because the fact that someone you cared for died a violent death won’t ‘get better’.
People have this idea that sadness is bad and you just need time to get over it, and it infuriates me that so many sympathy cards reflect that idea. The worst thing you could say is, “It will be fine, you’ll be able to move on some day,” seriously. Is that acceptable in the face of ANY recent loss?

Sure, it will take some time to ‘accept’ things, but sad things don’t stop being sad just because you accepted that it happened. Grief is still very real when I think about my friend. The only thing that fades over time is the burning demand for the answers to all the “why’s” you have – and an increase in the “could have’s” you think about.

… Of course, just because I’ve been through this doesn’t make it any easier to comfort my in-law. It kind of makes it worse, since the only thing I can think is, “Yeah, you’re never gonna stop feeling sad about this,” so in the end, I just didn’t say anything.>

40 comments

    1. My first comments are here. I love the writing style. Feels like bantering with friends, plus I do like the ambiguous feel to it. Thou I still enjoy the moments before when I knew that the information you used was more on a womans life than a guys life would be. Than again I read way to many books and watch people too much. (Anti-Social 101) Any Thanks for the chapter and hope to hear much more fun or silly or even the serious moments of the stories here. Much obliged. _________

      Like

  1. RE: end note. Yeah, it can be pretty rough.

    My reason for saying that wasn’t someone I knew very well, and it was ‘only’ a suicide, but the effects still last.

    I think your instinct about morning the process is correct. Lots of situations resulting in death have a long stream of decisions before the fact. Habits can be extremely hard to change, even when you can work out that they are ruining your life, and might be the death of you.

    This is a situation where mass produced pop answers are never useful. Getting a benefit out of anything would be very individual. All you can do is reach out, or give space, and never know for certain that you have done anything or enough.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. thanks for the chapter

    and

    “Yeah, you’re never gonna stop feeling sad about this,”

    unfortunately, you are right, I’ve not had the situation you described happen but I and my family have seen a lot of death and pain over my lifetime.

    it depends on the person, everyone has different ways of dealing with grief, but the sadness never “goes away”. it may not sting as much, many years later, but it will still be there. all I could suggest is to make sure you have someone there for you or be there for someone else, not comforting them perse, just offer a shoulder and give them the time and space they need to (for lack of a better term) “Level out” to get back to a state where they are ok enough to try and live normally again( or as normal as possible)

    Liked by 4 people

  3. *looks at a/n*

    … Do you need a hug? I’d offer you one, but… I’m not physically there. Have an internet hug. *hugs*

    Thank you for giving us an upload, despite your circumstances. We really appreciate it, but remember not to push yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. On the chapter: Bwahahahahaha! Ye gods, I love this crazy person’s antics.

    On the a/n: I always thought that “it gets better” was just one of those ‘comforting’ lies people told. The only thing anyone can do is be there for the ones grieving, so all you can do is reassure them that you’ll be there and they won’t always be crushed by it. That’s as close to ‘better’ as it gets.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Think the best thing to say is that the feeling proves that you truly cared for the lost one, and it is something that each person needs to find their own way of dealing with it (my family normal just has a get-together then sob feast (I’m not included due to being mostly emotionally detached from the situation) so that they know that other people that they are close to feel the same way).
    Think the real problem is when you become numb to it, and just get more hollowed out each time it comes up.
    And also really hate those cards, would be better if they set them, like a week or month afterwards, instead of possibly pissing off the receiver.
    Best of luck with your in-law, and remember that just letting them know you will be there for them, either in spirit or physical presence does mean something, even if they don’t see it that way with their emotions all twisted up.

    Like

  6. Thanks for the chapter.
    Don’t apologize for feeling, that is what humans do, feel emotions. I won’t say it gets better, cause it doesn’t, you just get accustomed to living with the emotions and learn to function in spite of them. Knowing that won’t help you at all, but then, there are no words I (or anyone for that matter) could say to make it better, or make it hurt less. Loosing a friend is bad, no matter the reason or method or timing. I’m sorry for your pain, and I’m sorry that I don’t know of a way to make it hurt less.

    Like

  7. I’d like to knwo how their reaction would be, when they knew that Jun is an avatar. Fear? Reverence? Hostility? At least Jun should strike him down with pure aether, that would be a good lesson. I know neither diplomatic nor smart, but whp cares? It’s more important to convey the message of the demon lord than their usless pride. Just step on it.
    Sorry, might sound extrem, but I am a bit pissed because of this behaviour.

    Like

  8. First: Yay new WFB chapter. Still easily my favorite series on this site translated or original and I can’t wait to see what comes next. Second: I’ve never had to deal with something quite like what you’ve described, but I know that whenever someone tells me something sad that I think I should try to comfort them for I just can’t. I freeze up because I can’t think of any genuine words that would actually be comforting and I refuse to just say greeting card platitudes at them. So I don’t say anything. Sometimes life doesn’t get any easier. The pain never really goes away. But you have to keep on moving anyway, because that’s life. …….This is going to sound terribly corny, but I’m always reminded of a theme song in these moments. “You take the good. You take the bad. You take it all, and then you have the facts of life.”

    Like

    1. I just looked up the lyrics to that theme song. Turns out I’ve been misquoting it for years, but I like my version better anyways.

      Like

      1. After rereading that comment I realized that it could come off as kind of flippant and I didn’t intend it to be. That song just reminds me of the acceptance that life is full of everything good, bad, and inbetween. Despite the cheery tone I can’t hear that song and not feel kind of melancholic about it.

        And to address empactwb’s question I just meant the part I quoted in the comment. The lyrics actually are “You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have
        The facts of life, the facts of life.”

        Like

  9. On the A/N:

    There are three sides to people who have this sort of experience –

    – People who won’t forget them, and who will continue to grieve well after.
    – People who will grieve for a short time, then pull back and push the person out of their consciousness.
    – People who will look at it and think “it is the past already; so mourn now and never allow it to be relived”.

    I’m not a psychologist; so it’s a very generic overview. The tldw is that you’re human; so everything can be recalled even if you never knew it; and what you’re feeling is normal. Some people can grow to accept it, but even fewer truly do. Any connection you make is unlikely to be wholly severed.

    The world doesn’t go away. Nor will the pain or your mind. That you can remember them and feel that they are proof that they are a part of who you are; and that is proof that you are you.

    … yeah; I am not a motivational speaker either…

    … anyway; just by feeling that way; you are a person. You have a will of your own; a path of your own; and a path others may join if you let them on. Live your life to the fullest, and uh…

    Ok so I have nothing. My view on life is that there’s nothing like it; and there is no end. If higher order beings exist, then say hi I guess…

    Like

  10. Wrong reaction Jun. The reaction on the remark:

    Even if we entertain that kind of possibility, it’s not really that great for diplomacy…

    Should have been:
    Oh right, I haven’t insulted him yet, didn’t bring any poison for him to ingest and I haven’t gotten to attacking with the intent to kill. I’m really not cut out being a diplomat.

    Like

  11. thanks for sharing.

    it hurts. and violent death hurts even more due to the brutality, and homicide hurt the worst… for both sides.
    on less traumatizing deaths, my reaction toward the relatives is most always “I feel for you” “have strength and courage”, “call me if you need anything”.
    that’s all I can say ; I’m not sorry (I wasn’t involved) ; I’m not wishing you to forget ; I’m not telling it’ll be easier later (why would you care about later ? ) ; I cannot understand your hurt (everyone hurts differently) ; I’m not telling you it hurts me (how would that help you confront your loss?).

    Saying I am thinking about helping the relative is the only thing I can do.

    courage to your in-laws. (Did your husband know that person? is he coping well ?)
    Strength to you to be able to help/support them.

    Like

    1. I can’t edit :(
      I wanted to add, even 7 years after the fact, and despite you knowing it : you were / are justified to mourn and feel hurt by the death of your friend, independantly of what he did before dying.
      he was a friend, he died brutally, due to man’s violence. there’s nothing more to say.

      Like

  12. It’s just as well that I’m not good with platitudes. They do seem empty. Best I could do for someone grieving, or depressed, and I would want the same done for me should I ever be in such states again, is just be there and let them know he or she is not alone. That and offer to get wasted as fast as possible.

    Like

  13. Thank you for bringing us these chapters despite what you’re facing.

    I think the best advice that can be given to someone burdened with grief is to take care of themselves- you need to be there for yourself, remember to eat well, shower well, go outside, take the time to treat yourself… Not just to regain the strength to stand despite the burden, but also so that you can support and help the others who were impacted get back up as well. I hope that the family of the bereaved will be all right. qq -internet hugs-

    Like

  14. if I had to add to what I said before it would be;
    I am a terribly blunt and downright unemotional person irl I have to modes content and angry(which has cost me much in the way of human interaction) I do not have the ability to console people or even be there for them emotionally. the few close friends I have know this. so whenever something bad happens to them I become a sounding board. they come to me and gripe or cry about what has happened and I let them.
    I don’t try to make them feel better because I can’t and won’t. I don’t offer platitudes, but I’m there for them to tell me whatever they want, even if it’s bitching about me.

    when they have gotten everything off their chest, I sit them down in the kitchen and whipped up some food, if it’s them bitching about a gf or wife for some small reason I’ll make a little dessert or something quick n easy to eat.

    if it’s something more serious I whipped them up some good ole fashion Down south cooking my mother and grandmother taught me how to make. I make em a meal good enough that hopefully, for a few minutes while eating, they can forget the world, forget their troubles and just. Eat. no expectations of it being good or paying or them having to thank me. Just Eat.

    I am not capable of expressing most of my emotions outward so it’s the only way I can help them, sometimes it helps sometimes it doesn’t. all that matters is I was there for them, I listened without judgment and I offered no empty promises.

    my friends know I’m blunt and sometimes a lotta bit an asshole, but when it matters, I’m there, with an open ear.

    Like

    1. Shared hosting on WordPress.com. If you deny JS on *.wordpress.com, they go away.

      Klinh could move to eg mangadex.com hosting, but would need to associate with mangadex and holo/ixlone/etc as opposed to nonassociation, plus you don’t get the notifications stuff at this point.

      My own one, zeen3.xyz, is also hosted there; and ads are not a thing without your own domain (due to holo/ixlone not wanting to associate mangadex with them).

      Like

    2. sorry. I have no control over it, it’s wordpress… …
      try disabling javascript
      I wanted to keep this site free , since it would suck for the blog to just disappear if i stopped paying for the domain in the future, but the negative side to it is the increasingly obnoxious ads

      Like

      1. Might be worth trying mangadex.com hosting. It’s WordPress based, but hosted on their shared services.

        I’ve gotten the AOK from one of the site hosts for the time being, so may be worth checking out if you find WordPress.com shared hosting is becoming obnoxious.

        Like

  15. It won’t ever…

    … Well, no. It does scar over, a little. But it won’t ever go away.

    You can accept it, and move on, live your life despite your loss.
    You can defy it, and choose to spend your life on making it happen never again.

    But they say things like “change your life forever” because it does. Your life will forever take a different course, will always be different than “if that one hadn’t died.”

    Until the day the last human that will ever die passes away, until death itself is overcome.

    ….

    … Anyway, about the chapter.

    So, I guess the elves have gone “holy shit, Light Avatar-sama?!”

    Like

  16. it’s perfectly fine to mourn the loss of someone while hating/condemning something they did and I am glad you are hanging on.

    Like

  17. Thanks for the read.
    As somebody with similar circumstances I understand.
    Remember to take breaks, and I wish you luck.

    Like

    1. i’ll explain in depth next update, because really shitty puns, but basically, my originals kind of took off, so i’m going away from the ‘translation’ name and more towards ‘stories’ in general

      Liked by 3 people

  18. my condolences for the lost, and it’s perfectly ok for you to grieve for your friend, just because he did something bad doesn’t mean you can’t mourn his loss.

    good job and thank you

    Like

  19. Jun’s comparison isn’t really all that accurate, rather than liken it to the chef spitting in the food, it’s more along the lines of, “Oh, dear, whatever shall I do. The completely vegetable soup we provided you unasked has beef broth mixed in it and you’re allergic to meat, and it’s just toooo bad that we took away your Epinephrine Needle for being too dangerous” And even that isn’t all that accurate of a comparison, but it’s far closer than Jun’s.

    Also, I’m totally not sending this reply significanly later than I read it due to the author’s note making me not want to seem like I’m avoiding the topic. >.>

    Liked by 1 person

  20. *needs more comments about the actual chapter not the a/n* I wonder if they all just realized Jun is an avatar from that action, or if they’re simply showing reverence to someone with that level of mastery or something (unless it’s something simpler and nothing to do with Jun at all, i.e. the mistress entered the room and the asshat and guards panicked). Either way can hardly wait to see the next chapter and everyone’s reactions, thank you for the chapter, sorry that you’re going through a rough time and hope things get better or at least more stable for both you and your in-law soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I have thankfully never experianced that level of greif, so I cannot fully understand your situation, nor am I at all certain that any advise I give would be applicable in this situation.

    In general it is possible to change how you feel (right now or about something), and there are several ways to accomplish this. They are not necessarily easy though, and you might not want to change it any of the ways you can find.
    One way to change is to shift your perspective on how you look at something (on a deep level, it is not enough to just change the words you refere to something with). A normal example would be looking at a particular task as a game or challenge, such as trying to throw laundry into the laundry basket instead of walking up at putting it into that basket. The classical example for greif is “They are in a better place now” change, which may deal with the part of greif related to sadness about how the dead person is now, and the use of this mechanism have driven some people to religion. It doesn’t deal with the sadness of loss though (which I guess is the part about your friend, as opposed to the part of the victim). I dont necessarily recommend trying to such a rute directly, but you might find that if your perception of life, time and death changes later in your life, then your feelings about such subjects might also be different (though not necessarily better).
    Another way to change how you feel about something, is to mix other feelings into it. Personally I use this about work, where I put music on when working, and thereby I get to associate the positive thing (music) with the less desireable thing (work), and thereby make it more tolerable. The classical example for greif would then be to also think back on the fond memories you have with that person, which might give a positive part to all the negative sadness, but it might also hurt even more if the greif is heavily loss based (loss as in you want to have something you have lost and therefore cannot have).

    Note that how each person feel about something is different, and the above ways of changing how you feel can affect each person differently, so you should try to reason about how you think you yourself would react to such things before you try to use any of those suggestions. Also note that I don’t really know how to deal with heavy loss based greif (light one might be handled by substitution), but it sounds like at least a part of the sadness is not of this form.

    Like

  22. She forgot she’s an avatar huh? Lol.

    Totally understand the loss. Comrades, family, friends. I will always remember my last conversation with them.

    After the initial pain and the grief, this little trick helps for me. I am going to have so many stories, things, and experiences that will make him/her jealous and then we will have fun again in the afterlife. Hopefully finish some of the promises we have together when we meet again.

    I will always remember.

    Like

Leave a comment