oristo 54: The Raid Rewards

<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>

Chapter 54: The Raid Rewards

You have used [10]x [Legendary Reward Box].
You have received

[Legendary Potion x5]
[Legendary Dwarf-Oak Decoder Kit]
[Legendary MP Potion x5]
[Legendary Potion x5]
[Legendary Elf-Wrought Dowser Kit]
[Legendary Treeant Toolkit]
[Legendary Elf-Wrought Dowser Kit]
[Legendary Potion x5]
[+25 Agility Enhancing Crystal]
[Legendary MP Potion x5]

You have used [25]x [High-Rare Reward Box]
You have received
[High-Rare Waybread x10]
[High-Rare Potion x5]
[+10 Strength Enhancing Crystal]
[High-Rare Trapper Kit]
[High-Rare Potion x5]
[+10 Intelligence Enhancing Crystal]
[High-Rare Decoder Kit]
[High-Rare Dowser Kit]
[High-Rare Dowser Kit]
[+10 Endurance Enhancing Crystal]
[+10 Dexterity Enhancing Crystal]
[High-Rare Waybread x10]
[High-Rare Hunter’s Bridle]
[High-Rare Potion x5]
[High-Rare Potion x5]
[+10 Strength Enhancing Crystal]
[High-Rare Peddler’s Saddlebag]
[High-Rare Herbalist Kit]
[High-Rare MP Potion x5]
[High-Rare Waybread x10]
[High-Rare Trapper Kit]
[+10 Intelligence Enhancing Crystal]
[High-Rare Potion x5]
[High-Rare Waybread x10]
[High-Rare Dowser Kit]

You have used [30]x [Rare Reward Box]
You have received
[High Potion x5]
[Cram x10]
[Cram x10]
[High Potion x5]
[Rare Bridle]
[High Potion x5]
[Cram x10]
[Rare Luggage Rack]
[High Antidote x5]

Pararararara –

An extremely long string of words streamed across my notification chat box, but even though I bothered to pull up the chat box, I just ignore it and open my Item Box.

Except for the rock drake stuff, I have already vendor-trashed all the junk items and bothered organizing all my stuff, so it will be a lot easier just to check what I got, since the

By the way, I had completely forgotten about Aurey’s Wayfarer Kit, so… yeah, I still have that~.

Yeah, sure, I might have gotten some rewards or something if I had turned it in to the Wayfarer Society, but I also could have NOT received rewards for it, and, you know…

A water purifier seems super useful~.

The compass and flint-and-steel are also useful~.

Basically, the stuff that would be expensive to buy are useful.

I’m thinking about selling the spyglass to Dark Ranger.

He seemed to be having some problems with the [Sharp Senses]’s <Enhanced Sight>’s duration, and it’s never a bad idea to sell favors to a good scout.

According to Goya, toolkits halve the carry-weight of the items in the Item Bag… even though carry-weight is based on items/stack…

You know, for all of the well-done parts of game, there are still a lot of contradictory parts that make it feel kind of B-grade.

Maybe they’re planning on switching to a fully weight-based system in the next update?

I don’t see the point to making toolkits reduce carry weight otherwise.

I mean, how many compasses will you have to carry to make the trait worth it?

At least 2, right?

… Anyway, it might not make sense to sell the stuff inside the Wayfarer’s Kit, since everything that can fit in the kit will all be under 1 slot, but I don’t use it.

Might as well toss it over to Dark.

The Chibi?

Psh.

Let him get his own stuff~.

After double-checking with my notifications, it seems that the Legendary and High-Rare Reward Boxes have a pretty strong focus on toolkits for [Scribe], [Herbalist], [Crystallographer], and [Trap Master].

Also these Enhancing Crystals, whatever they are.

On the other hand, the Rare Reward Boxes have a focus on steed accessories and consumables.

It just sucks that the kits are randomly dropped from the boxes.

If I had [Trap Master], I’d be pretty annoyed that I didn’t get a Legendary kit for that… but I got two Legendary Dowser kits, whatever those are for… ah. They’re for Crystallographers.

Looks like Goya and the other merchants are going to be busy selling kits for a while… although I should check what my crafter buddies need before I start pawning my extras off.

Legendary Potions are going into the bank… They refill way past my current HP bar, so they’re clearly items for late game.

Even High-Rare Potions seem pretty unnecessary atm – but I feel like… I may have gotten them so easily from the reward boxes, but it might be difficult to find them later on in-game.

Somehow, even though I should be pretty happy to get all this stuff, it’s just making me uneasy.

My instincts are pretty good, you know?

And right now, my instincts are telling me this generosity is all an elaborate setup by the devs.

I now have 3 Titles: Halloween Trickster, Red Ruins Conqueror, and Forerunner.

Btw, Halloween Trickster is a Cosmetic Title, mainly used for bragging rights. It also provides a pumpkin and bat confetti effect around the person with the title – like I said, it’s a “Cosmetic” Title.

Red Ruins Conqueror and Forerunner are apparently Glory Titles.

I say ‘apparently’, because the category only now popped up after I got some.

Glory Titles give… stats.

Oooh man.

Kuroshishi and Chaos are gonna be sooo pissed…

Even though Red Ruins Conqueror only gives +1% DEF and +1% WIS, they’re still going to feel like it’s unfair… and complain loudly about it.

I wonder if Kuroshishi’s going to be biased against the Chibi from now on, since he went with Baldro as ‘The Tank’ leader…

Great to see the in-game politics are starting so early.

Who am I kidding?

When popular gamers wander from game-to-game, they’re never NOT going to be playing sides.

Anyway, Forerunner gives +1% END.

Man, both titles give bonuses to main stats.

These have to be important titles… normally, at least in other games, the titles only effect substats, like run-speed or damage mitigation or whatever.

So either titles are going to be much harder to acquire from now on, or these titles are ‘special.’

As for the tokens, I exchanged the Legendary Equipment Token for a knight-based necklace (orange/gold quality), and the two Raid Equipment Tokens for a mental-defense based ring and movement-speed gloves (purple quality).

Legendary Choker of the Stalwart
Necklace

A woven choker that appears simple, but is actually woven from the fine down fur of a Gigantic Owlbear. It can only be worn by a brave and strong warrior

*Requires a corresponding ATK and DEF stat: Confirmed*

Reduces physical damage taken by 5%.
Defenses against Knockback, Knockdown, and Knockup increased by 10%
Strength-based actions are reinforced by 5% with solid footing.

Carved Ring of the Strong-willed
Ring

A wooden ring of a mysterious, enchanted piece of wood that increases the wearer’s strength of will.

+115 against magical damage.
+75 against Charm, Confusion, and Fear.

Fingerless Gloves of the Swift
Gloves

Woven of pure milk-flax, these gloves seem to improve the body’s movement.

+160 movement speed
+100 to in-combat speed

Right, some people might have expected me to choose more STR-increasing items to maximize my damage, but this is VR, after all.

I need more than just STR to be effective in combat.

Right now, the purple-equipment are probably more effective than that Legendary necklace, but as my Talents increase in level, the percentage-based necklace will eventually become even better than the ring and the gloves.

Although, those are pretty hefty numbers, so I dunno when they’ll become obsolete.

In fact, they’re kind of like Chie’s equipment’s stats…

I just don’t have enough understanding of the game’s ‘average’ equipment, and I’m suddenly getting all this high-end equipment thrown at me.

I mean, will I ‘out-level’ equipment at some point, or are these stats good enough to stay, and I just got a shit-load of equipment that’s going to last me forever?

I dunno.

Anyway, since it’s VR, the battles aren’t just won by who has the highest DEF and ATK, compared to screen-games, so it’s best not to worry about it~.

Besides, Toru’ll probably be looking into that, so all I have to do is ask him a little bit later.

And even if it turns out my equipment will be ‘forever,’ I don’t think I need to worry about it too much.

Sure, some games are all about swapping out equipment as you get stronger, but those kinds of games are the type I get bored with real fast.

The thrill of getting loot diminishes when that’s kind of all the game has to offer.

Conversely, if OriSto gives a lot more other than combat to do in the game, it should be easy enough for me to obtain loot that’s exciting to get.

What, I’m the type of person that combat-focused games seem to be geared towards?

Come on.

I’m not that blood-thirsty… I think.

Anyway…

I stare at my bank deposit box.

H-hm?

Didn’t I just clean this thing out?

Dammit.

I’m going to have upgrade my bank already?

That kind of pisses me off… gold is scarce at the moment, you know?

Even if I have a bunch of nice stuff, it doesn’t mean a damn thing when no one can buy it-!

Grumbling to myself, I reluctantly upgrade my bank deposit box to be able to stack up to 50 items in a slot.

Because I have 40 High-Rare Waybreads, 55 High Potions, and 80 Crams.

What, I should vendor trash stuff instead of having to pay 500 silver (ugh-!) to upgrade it, and an extra 50 silver, effectively doubling my payment to 100 silver, every month?

Yeah, I’ll think about it when we figure out what direction the game is going after the next update.

I don’t want to trash a bunch of MP Potions right before they decide to make it super hard to get – at the very least, I could sell them for some quick gold.

Food also seems like a waste to toss.

Hm… hm…

I resist using the Scorpion Queen Token and Raid Weapon Token just to clear up two slots in my bank.

I really should wait until I figure out what the hell a Labrys is worth to me.

I mean, I’m not exactly hurting for damage, right now…

I also don’t bother opening the Red Ruins Commemoration Cosmetics package.

It’s better to let it take up one slot than multiple slots in the bank, after all.

…Right.

I only have a few slots open in the bank, but let’s just pretend like I didn’t see anything.

Currently I have 170 slots in my Item Bag, and my STR has gone up, so I should be able to carry more items…

With the Wayfarer’s Kit, Cram, Medium Potions, High Potions, Medium MP Potions, High Antidotes, a shovel, a pickaxe, a lantern, extra light stones, the Legendary Dwarf-Oak Decoder, and spare weapons, I only have 14 slots filled up, but…

Yeah, the economy in the game is starting to pull itself together, but you can’t blame me for feeling a little apprehensive about whether or not I’ll be able to manage my Item Bag well.

It really would be nice to figure out where this game is going in the future.

I mean, it’s definitely keeping my interest, that huge update Kanata-san hinted at, but if it isn’t actually going to do much for gameplay, it’s a little…

Well, whatever.

For now, I guess I should just go prepare for a quick jaunt up north…

TALENTS

[Axe]Lv38
[Bolstered Endurance]
Lv45
[Sharp Senses]
Lv35
[Scavenge+]
Lv9
[Spirit of the Wild Hunt]
Lv30
[Inheritance of the Forest Guardian]
Lv37
[Discovery]Lv26
[Bolstered Dexterity]Lv33
[Counter]Lv28
[Mine]Lv21
[Scribe]Lv21
[Bolstered Strength]Lv11

Avg Lv: 28
TP: 46

Extra:

Unbeknownst to the current players, this is the only time where the Talents [Scribe], [Herbalist], [Crystallographer], and [Trap Master] will be so easily acquired and so heavily supported.

A time will soon come when all the NPCs like Andre the Traveling Scribe will disappear, and good tools for each of these Occupational Talents will be hard to come by.

Pretty soon, the majority of the best tools in circulation will be from these reward boxes.


<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>


<a/n: Okay, okay, action coming soon.
There’s a little poll for patrons on the patreon
Also, about the site name change>

22 comments

  1. Except for the rock drake stuff, I have already vendor-trashed all the junk items and bothered organizing all my stuff, so it will be a lot easier just to check what I got, since the

    Rather abrupt ending there. Missing text?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oof that info about the extra talents…

    So only Naru’s going to have a max level scribe skill or be the richest person on the market soon?

    Like

    1. nope, but there will be a very limited amount of people with those skills… compared to the eventual player base
      … that was spoiler-ish, but whatevs.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. by the time you reach that stage we’ll have forgotten most of the comments on this blog. Or it could just be put aside as author foreshadowing.

        Like

      2. Well, this game has competition right now, and OOC we can tell that the developers’s ambitions aren’t just going to crash and burn.

        So it makes sense that there would be a massive increase in the player base. And Axe-Bear hasn’t been aggressively recruiting people to go run those four skill quests, probably neither has Catboy, and it remains to be seen how aggressive Toru and the rapier scribe girl have been. Rapier scribe girl may have recruited a pull party for that quest, and from there who knows.

        Like

  3. I have to ask, Legendary Dwarf-Oak Decoder, does this thing decodes dwarfish to oak tree language, is it a dwarven decoder made of oak wood, or is it a decoder from dwarven to oRcish language ( note the r in oRc).

    Like

  4. So there are very important reasons why the devs want people to do more questing before the next big patch goes in.

    Like

  5. Have been looking at the past few chapters, and they have lovely foreshadowing.

    I would note that in 52, there is a mention of needing to update the stats to reflect experience gained in 52. In 53, there is a stat difference of one level in Bolstered Strength.

    It would make sense that only that much experience was gained, given when the quest was acquired, and that the black letter was not used.

    I guess she will need higher level quests and combat before we start to see the next steps in her build.

    Like

  6. … Have you played Mabinogi, by any chance?

    After playing Mabinogi, a lot of this feels like “what Mabinogi could be, if only anyone on the team were willing to put actual effort into it” >.>

    (and also VR lol)

    Like

    1. I’m not found of most anime-esque mmos because they usually emphasize social play and I’m a loner player meself, so I haven’t played mabinogi.
      I take a lot of inspiration from various tabletop and regular rpgs, less from actual mmos

      Like

  7. So when will Naru start her own BBS, “Naru’s Reward Token List”? You know there will whole gangs or players wanting to know what gear she chose/got/won, just like Ane-san or worse. Heck, the chibi will chase her for info as if she were the Six Fingered Man (Princess Bride reference).

    Like

    1. There won’t be too much heckling for this instance, since the draw pool is noticeably small, and Naru doesn’t DO bbs lol.
      She’s far too lazy for that.
      Although the Chibi might pester her just to know exactly what she got, but won’t bother her about the details, since he could look them up himself

      Like

  8. Thanks for the chapter!

    Percentage based increases will never truly become obsolete for a player, will they~

    Flat bonuses only last a person for so long before becoming what is considered a tiny increment to the player’s actual strength, after all.

    Looking at the extra, all I can say is that I hope Ellis obtained the Scribe talent in time.

    Like

    1. Probably will be obtains.

      The patch shouldn’t be even ready immediately. Furthermore, even if it was ready, Kanata would not have incited Naru if they meant to activate it before Naru or anyone else could do any questing.

      So Ellis has time, Ellis knows where the thing is, roughly, and Ellis should have an easier time reaching there. Furthermore, Ellis probably already has the quest from Andre, and it is Andre that is leaving. So, perhaps if everyone gets the quest first, they can still complete the quest after Andre leaves.

      I’m finding myself excited about what happens next in the game, beyond Naru’s personal progress.

      Like

Leave a comment