wfb 131

<Previous Chapter] [Index] [Next Chapter>

Chapter 131: Acquiring new gear and new companions go hand in hand with protagonists

Whew~.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a proper forge, and even longer since I’ve gone all out.

My MP is pretty much drained, but after using some of the techniques I’d thought up while we had been on the road, I’m really happy with the magic ore sword I smithed today.

It’s a katana again~.

Although I’ve gotten used to smithing broadswords and the like, I still like forging a katana.

There’s something about it that makes my soul sing, like it’s coming home.

Besides, my fighting style works better with a katana. Probably.

Even though I wasn’t necessarily forging this blade for myself, it can’t be helped that a blade made without any specifications will end up aligned with my preferences, right?

Yeah.

I like this one.

My magic ore forging has reached a level where you could say that I’m reaching the peak of the current abilities of smiths, although that’s honestly only really possible because of my enormous amount of MP.

Also, the image training I did while on the road has paid off pretty nicely.

I used the method I’d thought of to replicate the sword song forging – just a little, but even using it just a little bit had refined the metal’s ability to conduct magic by at least 1.5 times.

If I’d had a magic effect in mind, I could even use the sword song forging to embed that in with some magic-circuit engraving… but well, I don’t think this sword needs it.

If you think about it, embedding certain effects into your sword necessarily effects your fighting style, so for me, it’s better to have a sword that just conducts magic really well.

I like being able to adjust my fighting methods according to the situation, after all.

Anyway, Graham-san was interested in embedding circuits and magic into a sword, but I question the necessity of such a thing.

It’s interesting, for sure, but at that point you’re basically making a magic tool.

It might as well be an edged wand – ah, that might be what he’s going for.

Since in this world, metal conducts magic more easily than other substances, and weapons are often used to conduct magic.

Regardless, my sword song forging method was a way I thought of to activate particles already embedded in the sword in order to trigger the making of a magic circle within the sword.

After ascertaining the blade myself, I turned and handed the unpolished blade to Graham-san.

I want to take my time with it later, after all.

And I might have already emblazoned my mark on it now, but I also want to inscribe a name on it later.

The first blade I’ve actually had an urge to name… I’m pretty excited.

“Fumu… indeed, this isn’t something a normal bladesmith could come up with.”

Graham-san looks a bit dazed, but surely he’d had some sort of idea about it before.

That my blades weren’t normal.

Although, this might be the first time he’s seen a katana-style sword, since a lot of my practice pieces were broadswords that I was attempting to make sellable.

As Graham-san analyzes the blade himself, I’m suddenly aware of the crowd that’s watching us.

Unlike Nyl City, where each company of smiths owned their own forge and only the smiths that belonged to that company could normally use that forge, there really isn’t enough room in Ploids for that to be the case here as well.

Instead, this forge, and a lot of other forges around the city, does belong to a company, or a few companies, of smiths, but there are a lot of stations within the forge that are rented to others.

That said, it’s not like the forges at the Adventurer’s Guild that can be rented as you like.

Instead, these are more long-term rentals for companies of smiths.

Which is why the men from before were furious that I thinking about borrowing forge space, I guess.

It’s totally disregarding the rules that allows the basic system for smiths to live and work in Ploids.

It’s a bit late, but my apologies…

I only just found out about the system now, but honestly, couldn’t you have just explained it to me instead of getting all worked up?

I would have understood, you know.

Anyway, because of that system … aren’t my abilities going to get out a little too quickly?

Practically the entire forge is just staring over here…

… … … Oh well.

Seimei-san might be angry with me later, but that’s just something that’s going to happen.

I can’t change the results now.

“… Miss Jun…”

Ah, it’s Andira-san.

“Yes?”

I wipe off the sweat on my forehead with the towel around my neck as the Kartinez sisters appear, dragging along a kind of apprehensive looking man.

That’s their contact at this forge, I guess.

“Um… if you have the time…”

… Somehow, Andira-san’s acting even more politely than when she found out that I was traveling with Ragnall.

I take a quick glance at Graham-san.

He seems pretty engrossed in the blade, so I probably do have a few minutes.

“Yeah. Is this about the materials?”

Or like, that’s the only thing that would be the subject, right?

“Yes. Since we have to borrow tools and facilities at this forge, the price would have to go up a little, so we’d like to discuss the rental fees with you present.”

That makes sense. I have no objections to that, and it’s most likely that the payment will be the materials, anyway.

Actually, asking me to be present to prove they’re not ripping me off is a professional move to make, right?

Maybe.

In the end, my non-existent negotiation skills aren’t needed, since the negotiations are mostly between the sisters and Felixon.

Turns out he’s one of Graham’s smiths, so he DOES have the authority to work out rent and stuff.

The Kartinez sisters will rent facilities and tools in exchange for a small fee plus some rare materials, and in turn I will shoulder 50% of the rental fee in the armor payment.

… … I mean, I guess it’s fine that they’re doing things systematically, but in the end, I probably won’t be paying anything, since the sisters are taking a corresponding amount of rare materials as payment for the armor.

I guess even if that’s the case, everything has to be properly calculated and balanced.

I’m pretty awful at that kind of thing, so I’ll just sit here and thank fate that the Kartinez sisters are the honest sort of tradesmen.

After they finish the transaction, complete with contracts and witnesses, I turned to Andira-san, who was letting Lizette-san handle all the business side of things.

“So is this going to prevent you guys from being harassed from now on?”

“Well… I think that was stopped when the White Demon appeared. And even if it wasn’t, that kind of display definitely did it.”

Does she mean the forging process with ‘that kind of display’?

But either way, Ragnall and I don’t actually belong to your shop or anything, so I don’t see how that helps at all.

I guess I’ll leave it up to the mysteries of people.

“Ah, I am amazed to see such magic ore forging… Miss Jun, it truly is a miracle of a blade.”

Ah, Graham-san has finished appraising the sword, and he’s now addressing me.

Seeing that Graham-san had some business with me, the Kartinez sisters quickly excused themselves, returning to their shop to begin their preliminary work before they could come back to use the forge here.

Even though they don’t have to be so scared of Graham-san… he’s a completely nice old dwarf.

“Still… I think some prudence would be better taken when forging a blade… although it is marvelous…”

… Here too, there’s someone telling me that I should hold back.

Yeah, I know, maybe I should, but it’s been such a long time since I could forge properly, so let it go for now, please.

Completely ignoring the watchers crowding around, many of which appeared to be dazed or so surprised their eyes looked like they were going to fall out of their sockets, Graham-san turned, carefully handing the blade back, and winked with a crafty smile.

“Now, let me show you what I can do.”

“Hm hm hmm~ hm hmm~.”

I’m returning quite a bit later than I expected to, but even though I’m probably going to get lectured at by Ragnall, I’m in a really good mood.

After watching Graham-san forge a few different knives, I’ve got a pretty good idea how forging with monster parts works.

He only showed me the most basic of each different method of forging with monster parts, but it was the basics forged by a master, so every movement he makes shows the most important reasons behind each consideration he makes.

Plus, he was probably assuming that I’d be experimenting around with things, and so he didn’t bother putting his own flair on those knives.

I mean, he was right.

And can I just say, that for a bladesmith to not put his own preferences into a blade shows how damn good his basics are?

Sure, my preferences always go into my blades, but I’m not really an orthodox smith.

Anyone who’s hoping to learn off me is kind of … well, it wouldn’t be easy.

Anyway, I’ve had a lovely afternoon, but I really should be getting back now to see how the girls are doing.

As you might expect of a Labyrinth City, the streets are still full of people even at this time of night and lit up by magic and torchlights.

It can’t be helped that I’m brushing up against a lot of people, but I’m not too worried.

Pickpockets can’t get into Inventory anyway, and I’m wearing a sword on my hip, pretty visibly.

There shouldn’t be too many people looking for trouble with someone so visibly armed.

Tug!

-!

Wha-?

I look over my shoulder at the hand of a man who had a firm grip on my cloak.

As if noticing my sudden wariness, bordering on aggressiveness, he quickly lifted both hands up as if to show how harmless he was.

Like that’s going to make me less wary.

I didn’t notice his presence at all until he tugged my cloak, after all.

Even if he has absolutely zero hostility, I have a number of detection skills on all the time (well, I apparently have little affinity with the world attempting to quantify my abilities into game skills, so it’s more like I’m always probing my surroundings using mana and magic in multiple different ways all the time).

I shouldn’t be able to overlook someone in my surroundings unless he’s using some sort of ability that’s pretty powerful, and sorry if I feel immediately wary of someone who’s using an ability to mask his presence.

Looking him over, the man is human, maybe a little older than me, with brown hair … okay, he doesn’t look too different from the locals, but something’s different somehow.

I’m not sure how, but somehow.

After a few seconds of staring at each other, the man hesitantly handed me a scrap of paper.

Keeping my hand over my sword, I glance down at the paper.

“… Please lend me money. What? No.”

The note completely threw me for a second, but, no, I’m not going to lend a completely suspicious person money.

…So why is he looking so excited all of a sudden?

Right after my refusal, his eyes lit up and he smiled broadly.

What the hell is with this weirdo?

…Wait a minute.

I was able to read that.

I quickly look back down at the paper.

It might have been written in stilted, somewhat misshapen kana, but the words were おかね を かしてください.

Please lend me money.

… … … Okay.

So I get why you’re happy even though I refused to lend you money, but surely there was some other way to determine whether I was Japanese, yeah?

Seriously…

I heave a sigh.

“… Why do you need money?”

The man quickly wrote something down and showed it to me.

I want to buy a slave.

A slave…

My feelings must have shown on my face, because he panicked and quickly scribbled something else down.

I want to free my friend.

“…”

Haa…

I’m not going to just lend him money, but I do have a lot of money lying around.

For some reason, I keep earning more money and buying things without using money directly so I have a lot saved up, and I can always ask Seimei to send me some more through Friendchat, so I should have enough to buy a slave.

But of course I don’t feel like getting taken advantage of, either, so just in case this man is lying, I say,

“Show me.”


<Previous Chapter] [Index] [Next Chapter>


<a/n: I kind of feel like… screw the pacing, let’s just throw everything in now because reasons.

Man the corona virus is annoying. I get all the self-quarantining and restrictions and stuff to prevent the infection (especially to people with vulnerable health like the elderly, sickly, and young), but staring at the empty grocery shelves, I kind of wonder if people aren’t mistaking it with a zombie apocalypse.
I mean, it’s a super flu, but it’s still just the flu; your water is unlikely to be cut off, and you aren’t holing yourself up for the next year or two. Just wash your hands, rinse your mouth, and do all the other flu prevention things and I’m sure you’ll survive your next foray out to the grocery store.>

37 comments

  1. Re: CV. No, humanity is completely doomed. Madagascar needed to shut down the harbors back in December.

    I apologize, I’ve been wanting to make that joke somewhere for weeks. Seriously, I’m sure there are a lot of known unknowns, and there is potential for problems. It just feels to me like people are panicking and doing unnecessary things.

    The PRC thinking enough to blame the US Army is actually a positive sign. Yes, communist regime, so information tightness and leadership irrationality mean that one cannot get 100% certainty of ground truth from policy choices. It could be someone running around in a panic, and throwing stuff out to see if anything works.

    Young are supposed to be less vulnerable, but I’m just some rando listening to internet rumor.

    Anyway, I liked the chapter. Enjoyed seeing Jun smith.

    And this last development is interesting, several peculiarities.

    Thank you.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thanks for updating this story. I feel like most light and web novels nowadays feels very badly written, but this story and Fluvia’s story that you wrote always put a smile on my face.

    About corona… it’s kinda hard to know about the situation, since there is a lot of information all over the place, and even the news on TV can’t be fully trusted (at least for me, since one time its “just a flu”, and the next, you need to quarantine yourself if you develop symptoms…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From what I hear, it’s about as deadly as the flu, and the flu can be pretty deadly to certain people, but the main reason for quarantine is because of how easily it spreads.

      Like

      1. joe rogan just did a podcast with a …. disease expert(?) I have forgotten what kind, about the covid-19 and the guy said, according to the WHO co19 could be 10 times as deadly as the flu but ALOT more contagious, if true, its scary stuff. but like you said, if everyone is self-isolating and washes their hands, mouths, take general hygiene seriously, and get tested if showing flu-like symptoms we may just come out of this alright.

        Like

      2. The regular flu has a mortality rate of about 0.1%, and about 10% of people get it each year, so that’s 1 fatality out of every 10k total people; with Covid-19, it seems the mortality rate is about 2%, and by some estimates 50% of the world population may end up getting it in the next year, so that’s 100 fatalities out of every 10k total people.
        Also, the main reason to want to slow down the spread is to keep the healthcare systems from becoming overwhelmed: if everyone gets sick at the same time, a lot more people will die simply because many won’t be able to receive the treatment (like respirators) that they need to survive. Italy is at that point right now: the doctors have to choose whom to treat.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ty 4 Chap !!!

        I even heard England is doing a mass infection policy, quarantine the elderly and sickly while the rest infect each other as normal until they’re immune. And poff, the sick and elderly don’t need to worry about the virus as immune people can’t carry it around to them.

        Like

    2. The spreading, and the known unknowns are the definite reasons for concern.

      We know it spreads very effectively, and that some of the infected do not show symptoms. Which means that there is an unknown number of infected/recovered who never noticed. Without that, we do not have the true rate of serious complications.

      All that is a measurement/numbers problem.

      The people the media hires for content are not very numerate. They are oriented to emotion, and are mostly skilled at manipulating words.

      So, since this is a number problem, the media tries to find experts to turn the numbers into words. Then they change the words, because experts do not think about emotions.

      This is me being very careful to be charitable to the media. My explanation takes all the possible different ways media might cover this sort of story, and adjusts my assumptions for most or all of them to the position that most strongly flatters the media.

      Corona, like the media has many possibilities that I do not have complete information to describe. We can make different assumptions. We can shift the assumptions all the way to super deadly, and all the way to super mild in the US.

      One thing we do not know about is differences of custom, and how important they are. Chinese and Italians do not have the exact same customs as Japanese, South Koreans, and the various flavors of American. There is speculation that differences in custom between different flavors of American might be significant. (This basically involves large cities, and hygiene issues related to homeless, mentally ill, and drug users.)

      Re: precautions, if we can slow the spread enough, the number of people who are very sick at any one time will be low enough that we can spend many resources keeping them alive. It also gives us time to collect more data. The tests inside the US right now are too few to tell us much. As we get more tests, we will run more tests, and the official number of infected will spike. We will learn more about the disease, and get a better statistical model. Also, it gives us time to retool manufacturing and produce more supplies for treating people.

      P.S. I almost wish I were not firmly invested in my current activities, because this is a wonderful opportunity for innovation in manufacturing and logistical chains. A lot of people will make a bunch of money figuring out smart ways to address the problems this disease exposes. One of the reasons not to regret my choices is that I’m too slow and too inflexible for this sort of rapid business development.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. > Anyone who’s hoping to learn off me is kind of … well, it wouldn’t be easy.

    Well yeah, Jun used that elven sword song technique on top of Mana Forging. That’s approaching insane levels of skill and mana output requirements. Wouldn’t be surprised if there was only a few people in the entire world who could make a sword of that level.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Hey, is the Japanese supposed to be wrong? While the hiragana for O in Japanese is お, when used as a particle you use を. I can’t tell if it’s intentional from the context as I don’t know enough about this new character to know if they actually know Japanese or not.

    Like

    1. it was unintentional, I should probably change it.
      Good catch. The font in my wordprocesser was so choppy I didn’t even notice that my hiragana-fication changed the particle as well. I should maybe one day install something that lets me actually type Japanese instead of relying on cut/paste

      Like

      1. What I did was add Japanese as a language on my computer directly, which is pretty easy to do in the language settings. Not sure if it’s as easy on something like a Mac, but if you’re also using Windows 10 that’s what I would suggest.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s super easy on Mac and smartphones, just add the preferred keyboard-layout.
        Mac (probably windows/Linux too) Tip: make sure it’s the romaji to Japanese one. As then you won’t have to get used to the hiragana-layout, which isn’t indicated on your physical keyboard. (You will have to flip through suggestions if you want kanji anyway)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for another interesting and wonderful chapter. Jun getting another opportunity to trade tips and secrets with another master smith makes for great reading.

    On another note, while my sympathies go out to those who have contracted and are fighting the COVID 19 virus, I’ve never been more glad to be the way I am (a 50+, antisocial, self-isolating man who works overnight, away from the public).
    Please stay safe and healthy (both you and your spouse) and keep a positive attitude.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Imagine if Lincoln instead of starting a civil war said: “Well, yeah, slavery is bad, but it is their [Southerns] culture, we don’t have a right to interfere. Plus think about all the deaths!”

    Africans still would be slaves in today’s America.

    Like

    1. That is… not at all historically correct.
      First of all, while Lincoln *was* anti-slavery from the get-go, back then that meant “make sure no new slave states are created, and slavery will slowly die out”, because he and most abolitionists believed the constitution prevented the federal government from forcing states to end slavery. He also planned to compensate slave-owners in any states that *chose* to end slavery.
      Second, Lincoln didn’t start the American Civil War. The South seceded, and the South attacked Fort Sumter. The North simply moved to preserve the Union. Although it is certainly true that slavery in the US would have lasted a lot longer if the Civil War hadn’t happened, the South did it to themselves – Lincoln didn’t start the war.

      Like

      1. You are right. He obviously was dumb enough to not foresee that slavers would feel threatened enough to make the first strike. He was such a dumb fellow.

        Like

      2. @Nocebo:
        “You are right. He obviously was dumb enough to not foresee that slavers would feel threatened enough to make the first strike. He was such a dumb fellow.”

        There really is no need for you to be so snide.
        Also, I am quite certain that, contrary to what your reply seems to be suggesting, Lincoln (whose party platform, according to Wikipedia, “promised not to interfere with slavery in the states, but opposed slavery in the territories”), did *not* deliberately provoke the South into seceding – which they did *before* he actually took office as president – all so he’d have an excuse to write the Emancipation Proclamation more than a year after the Civil War started.

        Like

    2. Lincoln was not the degree of thinker who could choreograph the actions of his opponents so precisely. If that degree of thinker is even physically possible, it would be obvious that civil wars are uncertain enough that starting one does not let you determine whether you would end one victorious.

      You can calculate your own most loyal forces, and you can maybe calculate your opponent’s most loyal forces, but you cannot predict how the middle and neutrals get ticked off by both sides. If the balance of forces is certain enough in your favor, you can simply carry out a coup d’tat and directly eliminate your opponent.

      The Southern leadership’s start of the civil war was an own goal, and a stupid unforced mistake. They had screwed up their party convention, splitting their presidential votes so that Lincoln won the EV with a mere 40% of the popular votes. Because they operated on the small d democrat theory of politics, they didn’t consider a 40% popular vote binding, even if it was technically the terms of the agreement. So, they rushed the political decision in each state for succession, and the started the violence so people wouldn’t have a chance to back out. It was a stupid mistake, because it is possible to start a civil war is certain to lose. The Southern path to victory was foreign intervention for the sake of their control of the cotton supply, but they had sold off a surplus to fund the start of the war. Anti-Slavery United Kingdom had the greatest need for cotton, but was able to use the surplus to start cultivation in India and Egypt. At that point, the leadership of the South no longer had a way of 100% controlling the Confederate States of America over the coming decades. CSA would have been much poorer than the USA, and would have seen white attempts at succession in addition to the slave rebellions. End game would have been the Mexico scenario Sherman foresaw.

      Slavery was and to some degree still is, endemic in human societies. Much wider than slavery in the US. And Slavery’s end in the US isn’t anywhere near as simple as ‘Lincoln got it because he wanted it’. At a minimum, there was the economic side, and the cultural/religious side. Culture and religion are the store of values, such as ‘all humans are people’, and some specific choices of those values are necessary for a no slavery consensus to be stable. You are almost right to mention cultural tolerance here, except that a few people are not enough to force their values on a much greater majority. Just like a single leader that believes a thing cannot force a society to change its mores. The state of religion did pretty much force a choice of ‘all humans are people’ values. The state of the economy slightly confused being able to come to terms with those values.

      These discussions for the most part have no point in discussions of Isekai. Japan and the US have a basis in modern ideas of economic freedom. Which is mixture of influences from the English cultural school of thought and from socialism. Those are by far from the only school of thought on economic freedom, and there is no reason why an isekai world has to have a mix of school that makes a freedom from slavery/end of slavery story at all plausible. For example, Butcher’s decision to include an ACW inspired plot line has plausibility issues, even if the market might have made it necessary.

      Beyond that, Jun may well be the sort to think in the abstract that other cultures should be tolerated. And has a drive to fit into whatever the local majority culture is.

      On my own behalf, I demand the right to write Isekai and other genres with slavery, without people having grounds to ask why I am not making the slavery the focus of the story. See, for example, Drake’s Books of the Elements.

      If you have such a pressing need to discuss such stories, kindly go write them yourself.

      P.S. It has been a while since I’ve had any Latin, and I never learned the Noce vocabulary, but I have the vague impression that your handle conjugates to ‘I will not understand’. Though, I have the impression that this form might fit into clauses. y-bo might be used with x-other words/endings for ‘if you x, I will y’. Vague impression. From ‘amabo te’, the Latin please, meaning literally ‘I will love you’. Could Nocebo be implying that whatever we say, you will not understand? A deliberate warning that you are trolling us?

      Liked by 4 people

      1. Yesterday, I realized that I should probably retract the PS. And apologize, because it was unnecessary and low quality. The vocabulary I was guessing from is /Nosce/ te ipsum, and I had the meaning flipped in my head.

        I have other things I would like to say about the ACW, and related topics. Bunch of favorite topics, very rarely have an interested audience.

        Like

      2. OUTSTANDING! It’s not often I get to read an educated and accurate synopsis of A.C.W. economic and political realities anywhere, much less in a fiction comment section. If there were an ability to award something better than a “Like” for your comment I would do so. Multiple times. WELL DONE, SIR/MA’AM!

        Like

  7. Which is why the men from before were furious that I thinking about borrowing forge space, I guess.
    Which is why the men from before were furious that I “was” thinking about borrowing forge space, I guess.

    good job and thank you

    Like

  8. thanks …
    you got us wondering if it’s another transported gamer… or another kind of japanese… or a trap against “otherworlders”, organised by an ancient sect :)

    Like

  9. covid19
    isn’t “still just a flu”, first off, it’s not a flu virus, it’s a corona virus, a “common cold”
    i saw a video that explain the main difference between a normal cold and covid19

    basically, with a common cold, the virus infect your lungs, reproduce inside the cells in contact with air, break the cell, free more virus that either infect other cells or get expulsed by respiration, then the immune system attack the virus and the cells infected, you cough the waste away, you are out of danger

    unless you are really immunodeficient, a common cold normal won’t kill you

    the difference with covid19 is that the virus makes your immune system crazy, unable to differenciate between infected cells and healthy ones, your immunity starts destroying cells at random around the virus, deeper even than the surface layer, causing bleedings inside your lungs

    eventually, the virus still get destroyed, but it takes a lot longer, and your lung’s integrity is compromised, you might keep internal scars forever and other pathogen could get inside your bloodstream by taking advantage of the injuries, added to that your immune system cells turned crazy had to be destroyed too, so your immunity is lowered for a time, you could get infected easily by something else and die

    so, please don’t continue spreading “it’s still just a flu/common cold” etc… it’s much worse

    Like

    1. A) This was two or three weeks ago. Anyone can work out that the information about the disease then is less than what is known now, and discount it appropriately.
      B) There are people who can and do stock up for six months to a year of supply issues. That is not the whole US population, and you do not assemble that stockpile in a few days. If you force people to live off their personal six/twelve/eighteen month stockpile, a number will die. A large enough number to be greater than the so far US COVID deaths, even with a generous estimate for the latter. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect that people would be permitted access to more normal sources of supply. ‘Expect that people will have running water, and be able to purchase supplies’ is sound advice.
      C)Flu or cold is a reasonable summary of covid when contrasted to zpoc. It is apparently a bat cold, which we have limited starting immunity to because bat colds rarely hop the barrier. The Spanish Flu (which initially spread in the US, and there’s a theory of China origin) was apparently a Flu strain that just happened to be one that the population had limited prior immunity to. ZPOC are much more absurd in comparison.
      D) Yes, we had a bad harvest last year, and nobody understands the economy well enough to accurately predict what happens when you order businesses closed and open. People doing the latter all willy nilly could break the transportation necessary for food. It may have already happened, for all we know. There is past history to suggest that God watches over drunks, fools, children, and the United States.
      E) This topic is definitely an active warfare environment, and one where anyone would be a fool to trust an unauthenticated anonymous source on the internet. Domestically, people from both sides are trying to find the best way to weaponize the discussion for the election. Beyond that, I) The PRC has tipped its hand wrt its influence in US media. II) I sincerely doubt that there are many people who have failed to notice all the audible concern over Russian influence in US politics, including via anonymous internet proxies, with not a whisper that the PRC may be involved in similar activities. Unless they live under a rock, or are foreign or something.

      If you have any sincere interest in the blog, I would suggest you calm down, and focus on the stories.

      If the information war is your objective, I would suggest that you i) find somewhere more profitable to be ii) consider that the center of gravity may well be outside of your influence.

      Like

      1. Active *information* warfare environment

        I am always interested in the possibility of the next world war, but that is not what I was trying to talk about.

        Okay, I do think information warfare is most interesting as battlespace preparation for the use of conventional or unconventional force. But some people like it for its own sake.

        I don’t understand the current situation well enough to make definitive statements.

        Like

  10. Give the sword some weird name like Hitotsu or even better a chuuni name like….idk really, Hatsu no Utage but use the Utage 宴 character meaning feast instead of 歌げ meaning song to make a pun since it was made with a song technique but like feasts on THE BLOOD OF IT ENEMIES kind of thing?

    Like

Leave a comment