Cursed 026: Visiting the Injured

<Previous Chapter]   [Index]   [Next Chapter>

Chapter 26: Visiting the Injured

Honoka picked me up after school and told me a long, convoluted story about what she did today.

After I got over the initial confusion I sigh and say,

“… Well I guess the main points are that you got hired at a cafe, the Owner is weird, and I didn’t make enough for you for lunch.”

“If you wanted to take away the greatness of my storytelling, then yes, it can be summarized like that.”

Honoka said so with a toss of her head and a smirk.

Sheesh, she’s like a kid – ah, no, I guess having a child-like wonder of the world around you just comes with the territory after being a hikkikomori.

Honoka raises her eyebrows and stares at me.

Nonono! I wasn’t thinking anything rude!

“M-maa, weird stuff aside, so you got a job at a cafe, huh? It looks like the residents’ card is already coming in handy… Eh? Cafe Cinnamon?”

She said it was Cafe Cinnamon, right?

It was that store with the ridiculously cute storefront, but… Higuchi works there as a server, right?

But there were maids, or at least one maid.

“That place… is it a maid cafe?”

“Apparently the maid outfits are just the Owner’s hobby.”

That Owner with the weird (dangerous?)  aura, huh?

I’m worried about him for a completely different reason, now.

In general, I have some misgivings regarding the situation.

“… I don’t want to, like, say what you can or can’t do, but I’m a little worried about this situation. You could have just told me that I wasn’t getting you enough food. You’re going to be doing wait staff, right? Are you going to be okay?”

“I did properly warn the Owner that I had no experience at all, but he said, ‘I must secure an Onee-san who can still pull off twintails in a maid outfit!’ and so I was hired.”

“…Now I’m worried about you, but in a different way. Is the Owner a pervert?”

“I believe the term is ‘gentleman’, but he was also going on about how 2D girls are still preferable to 3D, so I suppose in a way he’s a hentai(pervert/weirdo).”

Just because a guy says he’s not into 3D doesn’t mean he actually isn’t interested in 3D… well, it should be fine, though.

I mean, we’re talking about a pervert versus a near-godly kitsune.

Although that doesn’t say anything about the problem that he’s also on this side of the Veil!!!

Seriously, pervert or not, isn’t that part more important?!

“I made sure to ask that I not get shifts after your school hours, so it wouldn’t interfere with anything you’d want to do.”

“That’s the least of my worries though!?

She’s over here concerned that it will interfere with my affairs, but worry about how it’ll affect you!

Seriously, what is this kitsune doing? She’s totally ready to just jump into society.

I haven’t even decided to take the job that came my way, so what are you doing, complicating things?

Haaa…

I can’t help but sigh as we climb the stone steps to the Shrine of Inari.

Although I have misgivings, there’s no real reason to stop Honoka from taking the job.

She has interest in it herself, and like Honoka said, just because he’s from this side of Veil doesn’t mean that I should keep her from doing it.

Although it super makes me nervous, Honoka IS a six-tailed kitsune after all.

Now if it were about me taking the job, finding out that the Owner is on that side of the Veil would be a definite NO.

If he was more suspicious, I mean other than his maid fetish, there’d be a better reason to have some resistance to Honoka, but seriously, if I freak out over every person who just happens to be from this side of the Veil?

I think I’ll develop a great case of schizophrenia.

If I think like that…

Haa…

The hikkikomori is already moving forward, and here I am still stopped in my tracks because I’m scared about taking steps into this unknown world.

Seriously, even if I try to resist I’m already in too deep, so why am I still trying to stay out of it?

I’m thinking I might accept the part-time job at Happy Life Work, after Daiki-san asks his co-workers at the police station about their reputation.

There’s a fine line between being cautious and becoming neurotic, huh?

Although I don’t think I’ll be telling this smug-kitsune that she helped me make up my mind.

A-anyway, I wish she had consulted me or Daiki-san before accepting the job.

Or like, I guess she was the one who solicited for a job.

Honoka randomly went looking for sweets and randomly decided to get a job after she randomly walked into a restaurant – even though it doesn’t feel like it would be a setup from some shady organization because Honoka’s just doing whatever she wants, it won’t hurt to be careful… is what I think.

At the same time, when Honoka told me he was hiding his aura, I couldn’t help but think… what if he’s just someone who wanted to cut off ties with This Side and just run a restaurant?

I don’t think that kind of situation would be completely non-existant.

Or more like, I feel like that kind of situation would be very likely.

Maybe that’s one of the first things I can think of because I would completely prefer that kind of situation for myself.

While making a mental note to check out Cafe Cinnamon myself, Honoka and I climbed the stairs to the Shrine of Inari.

It’s close to school, after all, so that’s why Honoka came to pick me up.

Although I had her wait a little bit away from the school gate.

It’s not like I’m worried about what people will think if they find out we live together or anything; we have an official story regarding that anyway.

No, what I’m worried about is the girl-crazy Higuchi seeing it and having a ‘riajuu blow up!’ festival.

He’s that kind of character.

Getting to the top of the stairs, we’re met with an empty courtyard.

There’s not a stern, angry-looking priest looking out over at us.

Fushimi-san wasn’t so badly hurt that he’s still hospitalized, is he?

IF that’s the case, I wonder if it’s really okay to bring Honoka along…

Well, as long as she’s not in monster-fox form, there will probably be no trauma…?

“Excuse me…”

I call out as I approach the main building.

There’s no answer at all.

Eh… I hadn’t thought that this would happen.

Even if there wasn’t Fushimi-san or Yui-chan, I had thought there’d be SOMEONE, since the shrine’s a bit on the large side.

Shoot. What do I do if there’s no one here?

I’d feel like a complete idiot, bringing this mega-bentou of inari-zushi here if there’s no one here.

Just when I was really beginning to get worried, there was a soft breeze and a commanding presence from behind me.

Uh…

This feeling is…

A woman in a dark kimono, silver ponytail, and slanted eyes was knelt there, as if she had just ninja-appeared.

She stood with an expressionless face – uwah!

Even though she’s definitely an expressionless character, she did not hold back a piercing glare towards Honoka.

As I thought.

She’s a kitsune.

The feeling she has around her is similar to Honoka’s.

I feel a little nervous.

I mean, this is one of Inari’s direct servants, right?

Oh shit, I feel a lot nervous!

“…”

Staaaaare.

The silver kitsune’s face immediately went back to expressionless and she’s now staring at me.

And totally not being subtle about it at ALL.

“U-uh… Is Fushimi-san in?”

“Fushimi-sama is currently resting within due to his injuries. Please wait a moment as I go get him.”

“N-no-! It’s fine! I was just paying a sick visit!”

“Then all the more that I should go bring Fushimi-sama.”

“An injured person is better off resting-!”

“Sayuri. What is going on?”

Look, we’ve already troubled the injured!

From within the building that serves as the priests’ home, the stern-looking priest is limping out.

Fushimi-san has bandages wrapped around his neck and head, one arm in a sling, one foot all taped up, and using a cane to walk.

He stops suddenly when he sees me and Honoka.

“-! … You are…”

“That’s… uh…”

I blank out for a second.

“That’s right. You are the boy who contracted that youko.”

“Youko…”

Eh.

Honoka doesn’t seem happy about being called a ‘youko’. Even though ‘kitsune’ is okay, I wonder why ‘youko’ is not.

Ah! That’s not something to be thinking about right now!

“Excuse me! I’m Kousei Ishikawa, and have recently come to this town. It seems our Honoka has caused some troubles, so I’ve come to give my apologies.”

I do a 90° bow, grabbing Honoka’s head and forcing her to bow with me.

“… My rampaging had nothing to do with you, though.”

Oops.

Honoka’s right, that wasn’t the correct greeting.

“Sorry, I panicked.”

I can send thoughts to Honoka no matter where she is, but we can only avoid having them intercepted if we’re touching, so Honoka told me to never use telepathy if we’re not touching unless it’s an emergency since we now have the eyes of… a lot of people who would have the capability to eavesdrop on us.

And I’m too much of a beginner to be able to secure my thoughts.

In other words, Honoka is confident her thoughts won’t be intercepted, but I’m the weak link.

orz

… We’re still bowed, but no one’s saying anything.

Uh…

“… I see. Sayuri.”

“Hah, Fushimi-sama.”

D’oh. I was holding out the mega-bentou, but Fushimi-san has one arm in a sling and a cane in the other hand.

He had to have the kitsune take it.

I am EPIC failing.

“Kousei Ishikawa, is it?”

Eh?

I turn at the unexpected voice from behind.

A woman in traditional kimono has appeared, coming up the steps.

Before I realized it, Honoka’s already moved between me and her.

It’s true that there was an uncomfortable feeling, like that woman’s eyes were licking us all over.

Even though it should be a reward from an elegant nee-san like her, it just makes me REALLY damn uncomfortable.

“Azami-san.”

Fushimi-san seems a little on edge in front of this woman too.

“Ara, Fushimi-san. The Saitou Clan sends its wishes for you to recover soon. Although our hands were tied dealing with your aftermath and we could only find time to come see you after you have been released from the hospital, it seems there were some tangible benefits to arriving at this time.”

She totally means me.

I might not be the brightest, and I might be SUPER good at second-guessing things even when I’m right, but the way that woman is looking at me and Honoka leaves about zero room for doubts about this.

“Good afternoon, Kousei Ishikawa. I am the representative of the Saitou Clan, Azami.”

Eh… a handshake?

From a woman in traditional clothes?

It’s somehow weird, so I can’t help but hesitate –

Before I can blink, from my right Honoka edged a little bit more in front of me, while a cane came from my left and blocked Azami-san’s hand from going any further.

Fushimi-san?

Azami-san doesn’t seem even a little bit fazed and just smiles, saying,

“Oh my, Fushimi-san. I understand he’s your guest, but I’m allowed to give my greetings, aren’t I?”

“My apologies, Azami-san, but I have obligations towards this young man from Inari-sama. Sayuri, show this young man in.”

“Yes, Fushimi-sama.”

…Eh…?

Obligations? From Inari-ookami?

Eeeeh?

No, I can kind of understand what happened, but the idea of Inari-Ookami instructing people in this shrine about me is still like … Eeeeeh?

Fushimi-san kind of blocks Azami-san as Sayuri-kitsune-san bows and leads Honoka and me into the priests’ living quarters.

As she led us in, Sayuri-san said,

“You did well to avoid the handshake. Although it was said that you were not knowledgeable about This Side, it seems you do have some survival instincts.”

“Please don’t expect too much of me. I just thought it was weird that she offered a handshake while wearing geta.”

And, you know, handshakes still aren’t mainstream in Japan, despite the longer history of Western influence in this world.

“… That is… certainly true. If she looked like a foreigner, a handshake wouldn’t be out of place, though. That said, please don’t get the wrong idea. Azami-san was indeed intending to do something, but as the representative of the Saitou Clan, it would probably not have been harmful. Although it might have been disadvantageous, for you.”

“Disadvantageous …”

“Reports of your abilities are naturally ineffective without a witness, so Azami-san was most likely attempting to confirm it.”

“That’s … kind of rude, right? Like trying to peek at someone’s medical records.”

“Indeed. I believe she was banking on your unfamiliarity with This Side, since information about that has also been spread around, unfortunately. Also, if it’s medical records, it’s likely that the Saitou have already seen them.”

“-!”

That’s totally disturbing.

Also, why is Honoka remaining completely silent through all this?

Although I’m not a complete KY(unable to read the mood), so I’m not going to straight up ask her right now, in front of everyone.

“Please feel free to sit at ease.”

Even if you say that, it’s not like I can sit sloppily.

Even if it’s only the priest’s living quarters, this is still part of the grounds of the Shrine of Inari, right?

Seiza is obvious, right?!

… Honoka…?

While I seated myself at the low table, thinking stupid thoughts like usual, Honoka doesn’t follow but sits along the wall behind me.

…?

Somehow, she’s been acting strange ever since she came to the shrine.

I understand that it’s the Shrine of Inari and Honoka had some circumstances in the past, but even when she was faced with Inari-ookami she wasn’t this distant.

No, rather than distant…

“Excuse me.”

I’m distracted from my thoughts as Sayuri-san delicately set a teacup in front of me.

“Th-thank you.”

… It’s so awkward.

Sayuri has seated herself at the table, but she’s not saying anything.

Honoka’s all the way in the back, and she’s not saying anything.

Even though I want to say something, the atmosphere is super tense, so I’m freaking out over what could possibly be a good topic.

‘So what do you do around here?’ or ‘What do you like to do for fun?’ or ‘Yo, Nee-chan, let’s hang out~.’

… No good, only playboy-like lines are filling my head.

You always draw a blank precisely when you need to think of something, huh?

There’s just us three in this room, awkwardly sipping on tea.

Actually, Sayuri-san only brought me tea, so it’s the three of us in this room in awkward silence and ME drinking tea.

What is with this situation…

Right when I thought that,

“I won’t accept it.”

“…Eh?”

Sayuri-san muttered something in a low voice.

Bang!

Oooh. It’s my first time actually seeing someone hit a table hard enough that the teacups went flying a few centimeters into the air.

Not that!

Eh? Eh?! What’s going on?!

“I won’t accept it. I refuse to accept that you survived when my parents are dead!”

Sayuri-san has slammed both her hands on the table, her poker face completely gone as her face twisted in anger.

What is she talking about – even though I had that kind of thought, I instinctively turned to look at Honoka.

Honoka was sitting in a perfect seiza with her back straight and eyes closed, but instead of ignoring Sayuri-san’s outburst, it looks like she’s prepared herself to quietly accepting it.

Somehow, the cheeky, mischievous kitsune seems to have completely transformed into an imposing, dignified figure.

For the first time, I’ve come to understand the fact that Honoka had been a military leader of the highest rank.


<Previous Chapter]   [Index]   [Next Chapter>


<a/n: Fluvia 6 also updated>

7 comments

  1. > There’s a fine line between being cautious and becoming neurotic, huh?

    Uh.

    It’s more like a beach and you’re deep-sea diving, but sure, let’s go with that.

    Whatever lets you sleep at night, I guess 😛

    Like

  2. Honoka picked me up after school and told me long, convoluted story about what she did today.
    Honoka picked me up after school and told me “a” long, convoluted story about what she did today.

    Good job and thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment